how to bypass electrical box

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-27-16, 12:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 13
how to bypass electrical box

Hi everyone,

Please see attachment.

Two years ago I had an electrician add an electrical box (A, with new light fixture) 2 feet away from an existing electrical box (B, with old light fixture removed), so that the new light fixture would be centered over the kitchen table. However, the new light fixture wasn't ready, so he left A covered with a plate and at B, power went to the old fixture but terminated there. No power went to A.

I have now, 2 years later, as can be seen, installed a light fixture at A, removed the light fixture at B, and need to wire B so that power runs to A, and then install a plate over B. The electrician told me this job should be easy but now that I've opened it up (and removed the old fixture) I am pretty confused as to what I need to do. I can say this: he was a very standards-compliant electrician so there should be no complications or unexpected wiring. I am hoping this diagram and my explanation should be enough to go on.

I have labelled each wire to help you explain to me what I need to do.

1 - black
2 - white
3 - white
4 - white
5 - red
6 - black
7 - black
8 - ground
9 - ground
10 - ground

Poorly of me, I didn't take a picture before with the old fixture still connected. 1 & 2 were connected to each other. I can't remember if 5 was connected to anything.

Again this should be standard wiring so I hope this is enough information to go on. I have a voltmeter if necessary. Your help is greatly appreciated as this was supposed to be an easy job, and calling in an electrician just for it seems silly. I have connected light fixtures before and understand the basics.

Thank you!
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-27-16, 12:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,114
Was there a ceiling fan at the B location ?
Are there two switches that control power at B ?
Which of the two wire cables goes to box A ?
Was there a new switch also installed ?

You're requiring us to make guesses here. You will probably need a meter to check for power.
A non contact tester will not work.

I see 1) three wire cable and 2) two wire cables.
We can assume 1) two wire cable goes to box A.
The other two wire cable looks like a switch loop.

The three wire cable looks like the feed and a switched line. (red wire)
 
  #3  
Old 03-27-16, 12:45 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,444
Switches

How many switches controlled the original ceiling box?
 
  #4  
Old 03-28-16, 12:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 13
Solved!

Hi folks,

Thanks for your responses.

I managed to figure it out.

1 & 2 were running to the new electrical box (new fixture). You can see they are on the same cable and tied together. That's how I realized they were the ones that ran to the new box. So I took 1 and connected it to 5, and I connected 2 to 3 & 4.

Hooray!

Thanks again for your help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes