Running power to remote animal stall questions


  #1  
Old 03-28-16, 02:38 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Running power to remote animal stall questions

I plan to run power from my shop (100 amp service) to a stall (100' away). There will be 2x 8' strip lights and 1 outlet on this 20 amp circuit. I plan to run 1 1/2" PVC conduit (size of stub outs coming from shop pad) underground to the kennel and metal conduit above ground to the lights, light switch and always hot outlet.

I have two questions:

1.) I assume I need to run a ground wire from the panel in the shop to the lights and outlet since the PVC will not allow to use the conduit as a ground. If I ground the junction box as soon as i transition to metal from PVC, can i use the conduit as a ground from that point forward? (i.e. ground the outlet and lights directly to junction box rather than running a wire)

2.) What size wire do i need to run? Here's the kicker - if it's not too much incremental cost, I'd like to have the capability to add another bay of lights and an outlet to a carport another 100' away (total of 200' to the panel in the shop) later on down the road. I ran the online calculators and they recommend 6 awg THWN-2. I don't like the idea of running wire this big because of the $$ and the thought of trying to connect #6 to a light switch. Am i missing something? Is there anyway around this? If not, I plan on just running 10 AWG THWN-2 and not worrying about the carport.

Thanks in advance for your help. Sorry about the long post.
 
  #2  
Old 03-28-16, 02:41 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I should add that this is all 120V.

Thanks again.
 
  #3  
Old 03-28-16, 03:06 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
f I ground the junction box as soon as i transition to metal from PVC, can i use the conduit as a ground from that point forward?
Yes.
What size wire do i need to run?
At 100 feet #12 is okay.

You may want to run a multiwire circuit. That is two hots and a neutral. Then you would have two 20 amp circuits. You might want to up size to #10 if there will be any motor loads at the carport since it will be 200 feet. From the stall to the carport would only need to be #12.
 
  #4  
Old 03-31-16, 02:41 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your help. How could I add GFCI protection to the both circuits if I wire a multi-wire branch circuit as you recommended? Each circuit (animal stall and carport) will have lights controlled by a switch and an always hot GFCI outlet.
 
  #5  
Old 03-31-16, 03:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,333 Upvotes on 2,992 Posts
The "always hot" GFI receptacle would protect the one circuit. Any additional receptacles could be connected to the load side.

You could use a dead front GFI to protect the other circuit if no receptacles were planned to be on that circuit.

Name:  GFI.jpg
Views: 73
Size:  4.2 KB
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: