Upgrading to 200amp breaker box

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-31-16, 05:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 14
Upgrading to 200amp breaker box

We live in a 1992 mobile home, and are needing to upgrade to 200 amp. I am pretty novice when it comes to electrical. I can run wires, change, or add outlet, switches, sockets, and breakers, but my knowledge doesn't go too much further then that. We just had our furnace changed over to electric, and had to give up the spot for the dryer so it will work.
Basically what all do I need to look for and know about upgrading? I am not sure if I will do the work myself, but I would like to buy the parts myself so I can find the best price(s), but I am not sure what I am looking for beside an interior 200 amp breaker box.

Also I am needing to know how to find a bad ground. We have one line that isn't working, and I used one of those plug-in gauges, and it read a bad ground.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-31-16, 06:15 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
What size is your existing service (main circuit breaker rating) and what is the kw rating of the new electric furnace? Just because you are out of breaker spaces does not necessarily mean you need a larger service. Depending on the make and model number of the existing circuit breaker panel you MAY be able to use tandem CBs in a few spots and that would free up space for the clothes dryer.

The "bad ground" may actually be a bad neutral if the receptacle seems to have no power. Give us the full story of why you tested this particular receptacle and one of us can further advise.
 
  #3  
Old 03-31-16, 07:39 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
Sounds like a demand load calculation should have been done before the switch to see if the service will handle the higher load.
 
  #4  
Old 03-31-16, 07:50 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,055
Also I am needing to know how to find a bad ground. We have one line that isn't working, and I used one of those plug-in gauges, and it read a bad ground.
Grounds have nothing to do with a circuit working. They are safety only. An analog multimeter is a more accurate test. As Furd wrote the plug-in tester can give false results.
I would like to buy the parts myself so I can find the best price(s), but I am not sure what I am looking for beside an interior 200 amp breaker box.
Most electricians won't agree to that. When I was first doing home repair I agreed to that with a few customers and end up the wrong materials even when I gave them a written list. You aren't likely to save much on parts especially with electric work.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes