6-2 versus 6-3 for range

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-04-16, 01:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1
6-2 versus 6-3 for range

I recently had my home completely rewired top to bottom. New everything except for the kitchen because I'm remodeling it and decided I would take care of the wiring myself. My old range wire was 10-2 with ground I don't have a fancy stove it's probably 10 years old it's a a 3P 3W cord unit. I was told code called for 6 Gage wire but I wasn't aware of the fact that code wants 6-3. So I went out and bought 6-2 as I have to have the electrical inspected and although the 10-2 passed before I figured it wouldn't in my new rough in because I had to move it for the remodel. So my dilemma is why can I not use 6-2? My range plug in is 50amp and the breaker in the box is 30amp, the original cord on my stove is 3 wire 3 prong if I switch to 6-3 I have to either buy a new stove which I can not do or change out the cord the plug in and the breaker right?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-04-16, 01:42 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,984
Current code requires 4 wires to a range. Two hots, one neutral, one ground. Because you are installing a new circuit you are required to follow the latest code. Sorry, but you need to run 6/3. You do not need to buy a new stove, just replace the cord with a 4 wire cord and 4 wire receptacle.

As a slightly cheaper option you could use 8/3 and install a 40 amp breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 04-04-16, 01:45 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,296
Most everything about your existing installation is wrong. Three-wire configurations (11-50R) used to be allowed 20+ years ago, but 10-2 was never legal for a freestanding range.

The standard configuration for a freestanding electric range is a double-pole 40A breaker, #8-3/g NM-B "Romex" cable, a 14-50R four-prong receptacle. The range should have a 14-50P cord set installed with the bonding jumper or strap disconnected in the appliance's wiring compartment (per mfr instructions).

Fancy ranges or built-in cooktops/ovens will have different specifications. Use #6-3/g and a 50A breaker if you want the capability to use high-end ranges or induction units.
 
  #4  
Old 04-05-16, 09:03 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 110
There are two reasons why you need 6-3:

1. Older stoves did not have any 120 V utilization, so the neutral was unnecessary. But modern stoves usually use 120 V for the clock and the light bulb. The code used to allow connecting a new stove with both 120 V and 240 V loads to the existing outlet, using the third prong as the combined neutral/ground. This is no longer allowed.

2. When you move away, the new owner of the house expects a range outlet that fits his stove.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'