Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Electrial Wiring Diagram Software - What type do you recommend?

Electrial Wiring Diagram Software - What type do you recommend?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-09-16, 12:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Electrial Wiring Diagram Software - What type do you recommend?

Hello,

What type of Home electrical wiring diagram software or online software can one recommend to use? I would like to draw a simple diagram and post my issue here.

I have a wiring issue with a 3-way dimmer switch and I think assembling the diagram would be better, since the photos are difficult to discern with the mess of wires that are in a gang box. I would appreciate any recommendations.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-09-16, 01:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,228
Welcome to the forums.

I use the PAINT program almost exclusively. It comes with just about any computer.

Name:  3_way.jpg
Views: 135
Size:  12.2 KB

You can also take pictures of the switch wiring and posting them here. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html
 
  #3  
Old 04-09-16, 01:38 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
Agree with Pete Paint is the easiest. Also do not show grounds. Grounds aren't needed and just clutter the diagram making it harder to read. I prefer to make the background gray so white wires show but if you use a white background gray wires for white are acceptable. (Both white and gray are code acceptable colors for neutral.)

Name:  3-way_Dead-end.jpg
Views: 154
Size:  26.9 KB

You can also use paint plus a free program such as Gimp to insert images.

Name:  3-way_with_load.jpg
Views: 163
Size:  29.3 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 04-09-16 at 02:59 PM.
  #4  
Old 04-09-16, 02:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,228
Two things....

You can insert images directly into paint and I never considered using gray as a background color. Makes perfect sense.
 
  #5  
Old 04-09-16, 02:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Most awesome, thank you for the info!
 
  #6  
Old 04-09-16, 02:59 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
I used Paint as a generic term for a type of graphics program. Mine doesn't have insert and the MS paint I'm familiar with in Windows 98 didn't either.

Pete, will modern MS paint also do transparency? You need that with insert (layer) so the background shows through around the image.
 
  #7  
Old 04-09-16, 05:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,228
Yes.... in windows 7 it does.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes