Question about Strip Length for Wire Nut

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-16-16, 09:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 185
Question about Strip Length for Wire Nut

I just bought 3M Performance Plus wire nuts. Most of the instructions that I've seen say to strip the wire 1/2-5/8 in. I noticed that these say 3/4 in which seems long to me. Is it okay to use the normal 5/8 in? It's #14 wire.

This is kind of an unrelated question, but is it bad if the copper is rough? The switches that I'm installing have built-in pigtails, not screws on the sides. I've removed the connections and straightened the loop with my linesman pliers. In doing so, it seems that the copper is no longer smooth. I wasn't sure if that makes the conductor brittle. I have some extra length, so it may be better to re-strip the wires.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-16-16, 10:44 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
Is it okay to use the normal 5/8 in?
Yes, That should be fine as long as the wires are contact with each other.

The wire does not need to be smooth to make a good connection.
 
  #3  
Old 04-16-16, 11:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 185
I have a dumb followup question. I am probably overthinking. The new switch that I'm installing has a pre-stripped pigtail. It says that no stripping is required. The stripped length is 7/16". I have my wires at 5/8". Do they need to be the same length? If not, how do I connect them? Should the ends be even with each other? Is it okay for insulation to touch the bare wire? I've included a picture so you can see what I mean! Thanks in advance for your help.

Name:  IMG_1374.jpg
Views: 441
Size:  24.6 KB
 
  #4  
Old 04-16-16, 11:26 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
Should the ends be even with each other?
Yes, the wirenut will grab the wire then.

Is it okay for insulation to touch the bare wire?
Yes, The insulation is always touching the wire. It is covering its entire length.
 
  #5  
Old 04-16-16, 12:05 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
The stripped length is 7/16". I have my wires at 5/8". Do they need to be the same length?
As Tolyn said, yes. Just get in the habit of trimming wires a little when doing your connections.

I strip solid to solid wires the same length always.
For solid to stranded, especially small stranded wires, I strip the stranded wire a little longer.

Forgot to add: You will go far being conscientious like this
 
  #6  
Old 04-16-16, 12:40 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,352
Just match the wires at the stripped end. The insulation touching is not an issue.
 
  #7  
Old 04-16-16, 04:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,430
Just as an aside here..... the manufacturers are very thoughtful to pre-strip the wires for you but they are never stripped far enough.
 
  #8  
Old 04-16-16, 05:32 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
the manufacturers are very thoughtful to pre-strip the wires for you but they are never stripped far enough.
I agree 100%
----------------
 
  #9  
Old 04-16-16, 05:38 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,633
Maybe wrong but when i have stranded fixture wire smaller than #14 I strip off about an inch of insulation and wrap it in a spiral from bottom to top of the house wire.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'