Outdoor outlet fail

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-19-16, 12:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 124
Outdoor outlet fail

Hello All,

I uninstalled my outdoor outlet so I could install it inside of an outdoor cover. I shut off the breaker before the install.

After the install was complete I flipped the breaker back in and plugged something into the outlet but no Bueno! I hate DYI stuff whe. You run into stuff like this! Why can't everything go ok?!

I hooked the multimeter to an outlet in the same circuit and it gets 120 volts. I tried the outdoor outlet and it's dead. I deinstalled the outlet and tried the cables only and still dead.

Did I possibly break a wire? The other wall outlets in the circuit work.

I hate failing
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-19-16, 01:14 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,506
Is this receptacle downstream of a GFCI receptacle which may be tripped off? Try the RESET and TEST buttons on any GFCI receptacles on this circuit.

You only fail when you give up. Solving a problem takes determination, not perfection.
 
  #3  
Old 04-19-16, 02:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 124
Thanks for the encouragement!

I won't give up.

None of the downstream a are GFCI, all are standard and working.
 
  #4  
Old 04-19-16, 02:19 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,758
Maybe you misunderstood or mistyped but Ben asked whether any receptacles upstream of this were GFCI - you wrote than none downstream were.

If this is outside, it should have GFCI somewhere - either at the breaker or, more commonly, at a GFCI receptacle upstream.
 
  #5  
Old 04-19-16, 02:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 124
I am not finding a single GFCI on the circuit either upstream or down. The outlet is outdoors but it isn't GFCI. Name:  IMG_5932.jpg
Views: 100
Size:  30.6 KB
 
  #6  
Old 04-19-16, 03:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 124
Here are some pics showing the path of the flow.

Name:  1.jpg
Views: 85
Size:  15.8 KB
Name:  2.jpg
Views: 81
Size:  15.8 KB
Name:  3.jpg
Views: 82
Size:  27.6 KB

There is one outlet that is on the opposite wall in the kitchen that is also in this series, but is not GFCI.
 
  #7  
Old 04-19-16, 03:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,049
You need to look everywhere inside and out, attic, bath, kitchen, garage and behind something you haven't moved in years. Do you have GFCI breakers.
 
  #8  
Old 04-19-16, 03:39 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,235
Those outlets over the kitchen countertops by code needed to be protected by a GFI.
Does the breaker look like all the rest of the breakers of does it have a red push button on it?
 
  #9  
Old 04-19-16, 03:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 124
SOLVED!!!!!

I will post write up shortly!
 
  #10  
Old 04-19-16, 05:13 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
receptacle should not be fed from the kitchen. I bet it comes from a bathroom or garage circuit.
 
  #11  
Old 04-20-16, 05:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 124
I found a GFCI fed off of another breaker that was the culprit! I pushed the test or reset button and I was back in business!

I am confused as to how a GFCI on another breaker could impact another breaker.

Thank you all for the help! 9 hours it took for me to start and finish this!
 
  #12  
Old 04-20-16, 12:52 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,049
Sounds more like you guessed wrong on which breaker the receptacle is on.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes