Light Socket Outlet Adapter

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-20-16, 07:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,445
Light Socket Outlet Adapter

I have a question regarding those light socket adapter that allow you to screw into a light socket and added an inline switched outlet in the process.



What are some of the things to watch out for when using an outlet like this? Is there some sort of wattage restriction on what you can plug into it? I am thinking you can't plug in anything "heavy duty" to it because it is going through the lighting fixture's wiring and components.

Can you put this on an exterior wall sconce and hook up say a string of Christmas lights?

Also it does not have ground.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-20-16, 10:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,465
Never liked those things. The plugs always fit loose and the adapter wouldn't stay tight in the socket causing the adapter to burn.

The actual wattage should be right on it. In years gone by they were 660watts.

Plugging in a set of LED Christmas lamps should be acceptable. I wouldn't connect anything over 100watts.

..... and you're right..... it doesn't have a ground.
 
  #3  
Old 04-20-16, 10:41 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Another problem is many light fixtures now days don't have a full shell. The adapter pictured has a full shell, but you might be screwing it into a fixture that only has a small tab for the neutral contact.

From my experience, the neutral tabs do not make good contact.
 
  #4  
Old 04-21-16, 04:56 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,636
They are only good for temporary extension light. However, the porcelain light sockets with grounded outlet are better. But they are only as good as the wire size and amp rating of the circuit. IMHO never use except foe lamp extension.
 
  #5  
Old 04-21-16, 06:57 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,981
One other thing to mention is if that is installed in a location such as an unfinished basement or garage (or any other place that requires GFCI protection) it is required to be GFCI protected.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'