GFI receptacle problems: here's the situation

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-25-16, 06:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 18
GFI receptacle problems: here's the situation

Ok, power going to an outside GFI. That GFI is used for a low demand landscaping light set. That GFI provides power to the wires that go around side of our house to another GFI, (its how the previous owner had it set up). That GFI provides power to the wires that feed into the pool timer.

Now the problem is that GFI for the pool timer provides the power for the timer but its in a faulted state as if you plug a shop light into the socket, it will not come on. But again, the pool timer comes on and shuts off as set.

I think the whole thing is wired back asswards or something. I was thinking why is there a GFI to another GFI? And why is that GFI tripped but still providing power to the pool timer, but plugging something into, it doens't work?

Can anyone provide a link or a diagram of how the wires should be for the two wires going into the landscape GFI, then the wires that go a regular outside outlet, and then the wires to the pool timer....is that possible?

Thx.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-25-16, 06:58 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Installing two GFCI' on the same circuit can cause nuisance trips. You may have a bad GFCI, or it could be wired incorrectly. You will need to remove power from the circuit and pull the GFCI's and tell us howmthey are wired and where the wires originate. Pictures would help.
 
  #3  
Old 04-25-16, 07:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,237
Only need one GFI to protect the whole circuit.
I give up what's a pool timer?
 
  #4  
Old 04-25-16, 07:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,182
Are you saying that the GFI receptacle is supplying power in the tripped state ?

Every GFI receptacle has line and load terminals on it. The power comes in the line side to feed the receptacle. The load side is GFI protected for additional standard receptacles.

Having one GFI receptacle feeding a second one usually causes problems.

You can wire two GFI receptacles on a single circuit...
Name:  dual.jpg
Views: 76
Size:  35.8 KB
 
  #5  
Old 04-26-16, 10:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 18
Hey Pete...thanks for the reply. As far as your question, when I check with my meter it shows power at the gfi for the pool PUMP timer, however the gfi is tripped and wont reset and if you plug something into the outlet it won't operate.

So I an install a non gfi outdoors outlet...would that diagram apply to that as well? Also, as the second outlet not only gets power but also feeds power out, (to the pool PUMP timer)....could you supply that type of a set up bud?

Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 04-26-16, 11:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 18
pump timer for the pool sir.
 
  #7  
Old 04-26-16, 11:24 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,182
First receptacle GFI..... additional ones are standard on the load side.

Name:  recp.jpg
Views: 54
Size:  32.7 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 04-26-16 at 11:43 AM. Reason: added timer wiring to diagram
  #8  
Old 04-26-16, 11:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 18
Awesome....now if I am connecting the pump timer wires to the non gfi would they go on the unused terminals Pete?
 
  #9  
Old 04-26-16, 11:45 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,182
I changed the diagram but the timer wiring would be the same place at the GFI as shown or on the extra set of terminals on the non GFI receptacle.
 
  #10  
Old 04-26-16, 11:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 18
oh ok, gotcha....thanks for the help
 
  #11  
Old 04-27-16, 07:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 18
I just noticed in the second diagram you so kindly supplied, the pool timer is actually coming off of the second GFI, or the new non GFI if I switch to a regular outdoor outlet, not the first GFI.

I could run new wire from the first to the pool timer but I'd sure like to not do that. If I switched to the non GFI outlet for the second outlet, (pool timer), would I just use the lower lugs to attach to timer into bud?

Been so busy with other things I didn't get to the outlet, but will have time tomorrow.
 

Last edited by Ron Wilburn; 04-27-16 at 07:52 PM.
  #12  
Old 04-27-16, 07:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,182
Yes Ron..... that is what I wrote in post 9.
 
  #13  
Old 04-27-16, 08:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 18
dang....missed it...thx....
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes