Trying to confirm pool pump motor is 120v

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-27-16, 12:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 87
Trying to confirm pool pump motor is 120v

I am trying to confirm that my pool pump does in fact have a motor wired with 110 volts. My motor is capable of being wired either 110 or 220 but I believe it to be 110. The thing that confuses me is that there are red, black and green wires used which I always thought meant 220?

However, my service panel seems to have a single pole breaker which makes me think it is 110. The breaker on the right side is for my sprinkler timer. Also the wiring diagram on the T101R instructions looks like the way mine is wired, which is 120.

Also I measured across the red and black wire going from the timer to the pump and got 120 volts. On the timer on tabs 3 and 4 nothing is connected which also makes me think it is 110. Name:  timer.jpg
Views: 1561
Size:  18.6 KBName:  IMG_3324.jpg
Views: 381
Size:  26.4 KBName:  IMG_3330.jpg
Views: 568
Size:  42.2 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-27-16, 12:53 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,502
It appears to be wired as 120V, but incorrectly using the red wire. You should open the panel to verify the red wire is landed on the neutral bar. Feel free to include a picture of the inside of the panel. Someone who made this mistake I wouldn't put it passed them to have made some other large ones too.

It looks like there are two white wires on terminals A and 1 -- where do those go? Can you take a picture without the shield in place?

If the wire color is the only mistake, it should be replaced with a white wire.
 
  #3  
Old 04-27-16, 03:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 87
My understanding is that the white wires run the clock motor on the timer. I'll try and remove the cover off of the service panel and see what the wires are connected to.
 
  #4  
Old 04-27-16, 04:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 87
Name:  image.jpg
Views: 250
Size:  46.0 KB

Here is the service panel. The breaker says 110 on it so I'm certain it is wired 110v
 

Last edited by Thinkly; 04-27-16 at 05:27 PM.
  #5  
Old 04-27-16, 06:46 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,041
The breaker says 110 on it
Since your house has 120 volts it is a 120 volt breaker. You also seem to have a breaker with a purple wire. That also needs to be replaced. There seems to be some other weird things. Can you give us a picture of the whole breaker box.
 
  #6  
Old 04-27-16, 07:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 87
I'm not sure I understand. Wouldn't I need a 220 breaker if the pump was 220? The breaker with the purple wire is for my sprinkler controller not the pump. Name:  image.jpg
Views: 264
Size:  41.8 KB
 
  #7  
Old 04-27-16, 08:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,075
Your pump must have been originally a 240v one. That would explain the red and black power wires. A 120v pump uses a black and white wire.

It's easy to remove the red wire from the GFI breaker to the timer and replace it with a white wire. The tough part is replacing the red wire from the timer to the pump.
 
  #8  
Old 04-27-16, 08:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 87
The pump is original to the pool which is 7 yrs old. I'm not sure why they would use the wrong wires.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes