Correct wire size for second panel?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-28-16, 09:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Correct wire size for second panel?

I have a service drop from the transformer to my meter main 20' away. The main is a 400amp service (320amp-residential) I come out of that main and go underground using 750mcm Aluminum which runs less than a 1000' to a pull box. In that pull box I tapped into the aluminum using 2/0 copper wire and ran another 50' into a 200amp panel in my home. I want to run new wire to a new location.

My question
I want to tap into the same pull box (750mcm) and make a new run 290' away to another 200amp panel at my shop.
1. What size copper wire can I get away with??? or Aluminum???
2. What type of connectors will I need to tap the 750mcm
3. What size schedule 40 pvc conduit will I need?

Thanks for any help! Much appreciated!
 

Last edited by beg4forgiveness; 04-28-16 at 11:32 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-28-16, 12:17 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,292
I'm already calculating a ~5% voltage drop on the 1000' run with just the one 200A service -- I don't see a lot of room to add another.

What is the feeder breakered at on the panel at the pole? Is this a three-wire or four-wire feeder?

What are your actual/calculated loads in each building?
 
  #3  
Old 04-28-16, 05:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 7
it's two 200amp breakers. It's a four wire feeder.

Actual calculated loads in each building are - 100amps and 60amps
 
  #4  
Old 04-29-16, 11:49 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
it's two 200amp breakers. It's a four wire feeder.
I cannot think of a single way to terminate 2 - 750 MCM hot conductors to two 200 amp breakers. Can you provide a picture of the terminations. Sounds like you have a mess.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'