Westinghouse-Bryant breaker compatibility?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-28-16, 08:25 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Westinghouse-Bryant breaker compatibility?

I have an Eaton sub BR1624L125
I know of some new Westinghouse Bryant Breakers that listed as BD1520
They have the rejection piece.
I would like to know if they can be used in my panel in the slotted buss?
If so are they good breakers or crap?
What should I look for in the listing on them?
Thanks
T.
 
  #2  
Old 04-28-16, 10:26 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,647
Received 48 Votes on 43 Posts
What do you mean "new Westinghouse Bryant" as those two sold out long ago and are now the current Eaton (was Cutler-Hammer).

A new Eaton BD1520 should be the correct breaker. Double check the label in the panel to see the breaker types accepted.
 
  #3  
Old 04-29-16, 06:14 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New Old Stock.
New but never been installed.
It has the rejection tabs for the slotted buss , which my panel has 4 slots that are slotted.
Was wondering is they are compatible and were good breakers
Or maybe like stablocs that were crummy made?
 
  #4  
Old 04-29-16, 08:45 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
Yes they're still good breakers assuming they were stored in a dry location. That line is now made by the Eaton company for their "BR" series panels (used to be Bryant). You'll probably want to snap them on an off a few times to make sure the mechanisms are still working.
 

Last edited by ibpooks; 04-29-16 at 09:27 AM.
  #5  
Old 04-29-16, 07:27 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, I am going to buy them so not to fill up all of my sub with the 1" single breakers , this way I will have 2 in each 1" space and being 15amp and 20 amp I will have enough for all of my 14 and 12 ga. feeds,
The Breakers were all still new in the box.
I had enough New Eaton BR breakers but all were single pole 1" which would have filled the sub pretty quickly.
Ben
 
  #6  
Old 04-30-16, 11:34 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,754
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
I am going to buy them
They must be pretty cheap. A new BD tandem is only around $8.
 
  #7  
Old 04-30-16, 12:29 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hello Joe, I am still gathering up parts to change the main and Subs out after talking with you and others.
They were cheap enough I guess.
I gave $28.00 for 12 of them new in the box shipped free.
I don't have a contactors license as most of the members here probably do, so cheapest I could find them was Eatons @ HD for $11.99 each which shipping there is also free if you buy enough.
I was going to buy the Eatons but these were cheaper , is why I asked all the questions about them, I could tell by the looks and measurements they would work but didn't know much about the quality since they were made no more.
Ben
 
  #8  
Old 05-01-16, 06:55 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,754
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
You got a pretty good buy. They are the same as the Eaton/Cutler-Hammer BD tandems.
 
  #9  
Old 05-02-16, 07:20 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Joe I am happy to hear they are the same, I was going to give the $12.00 each for the Eatons but when I saw these they looked like the same ones and had the HACR and the UL listing like the Eatons did.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: