How to measure Voltage without cutting wire?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-30-16, 01:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question How to measure Voltage without cutting wire?

Is it possible to measure Voltage without cutting a wire. No needles penetrated the wire))
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-30-16, 02:43 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
No. Why do you need to do this.
 
  #3  
Old 04-30-16, 02:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,051
Received 62 Votes on 57 Posts
Any wire that I have seen starts and ends someplace, and you should be able to take a reading at one of those points, but you need to be more specific.
 
  #4  
Old 05-01-16, 06:38 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,016
Received 13 Votes on 13 Posts
Are we answering your test questions for you???
 
  #5  
Old 05-01-16, 08:03 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,369
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
yes, but it will cost lots of $$.
 
  #6  
Old 05-01-16, 11:05 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,946
Received 32 Votes on 27 Posts
I would say yes, but you need to know the load on the circuit.

Anyone want to play along?
 
  #7  
Old 05-01-16, 04:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,229
Received 18 Votes on 17 Posts
If you have a constant load with known value (light bulb, heater coil, etc..), you can measure current with a clamp meter and calculate voltage from it.
I think this is what pcboss is suggesting.

But, this can have pretty big error because a clamp meter is not very accurate. Error of few hundreds mA can mean several volts of error.
The equation is
V=P/I
Where V is volt, P is power in W, I is current in A.
 
  #8  
Old 05-01-16, 10:18 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,946
Received 32 Votes on 27 Posts
We have a winner.
 
  #9  
Old 05-02-16, 05:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,369
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
Becomes tougher, but still possible, when the load is zero.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: