Running a subpanel off another subpanel

Old 05-04-16, 01:14 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Running a subpanel off another subpanel

Hi, I am new to the forum and have been looking around, and have already learned plenty! I am a mechanical engineer located in Jacksonville, FL. I recently built a detached garage about 80 from the house and I am considering how to run electrical service to it. The 200A main breaker panel is on the opposite end of the house from the garage; however, there is a 125A subpanel installed in an addition which is on the side of the house closest to the garage. After doing some research, I believe I can run a 100A subpanel in the garage off the existing subpanel.

The existing subpanel is wired with 2/0 AL SEU cable run through the attic from the main panel. Circuits on this subpanel included a kiln which is no longer there, a water heater which has been relocated (now runs off the main panel), and the well water pump. When everything is finished, the only circuits that will remain on the existing subpanel (other than the garage subpanel) are a 2-ton heat pump, along with the 110V lighting and outlets for the master suite, family room, and 1-car attached garage. The water pump is currently located in a utility room adjacent to the master suite and, due to the undesired noise, I plan to move it to a pump house out by the well and run it off the garage subpanel.

The new garage subpanel will power a 220V air compressor, TIG welder, a bunch of 110V outlets, the relocated water pump, some large (Big Ass-style) ceiling fans, and possibly in the future a heat pump and electric car charging station when I eventually get one of those. I calculate 100A should be sufficient for my planned usage.

I have done a lot of research but still have a few questions:

1) Are there any problems or caveats with this plan to run a subpanel off another subpanel that I may have overlooked?