Mysterious electrical problem - Help?

Old 05-06-16, 02:52 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Mysterious electrical problem - Help?

Hello:

This is my first time posting to this forum, but I have often visited to learn from others. Now I find myself in the middle of an electrical mystery that no one has been able to solve, and I'm wondering if this forum can help. I've had the problem assessed by our power utility and a professional electrician, so I'm running out of ways to seek help.

The issue began several months ago when our LED television began to intermittently buzz loudly when we were watching TV. It could last for a few seconds, or it could go on for an hour. It varied. Eventually, we realized that it was happening even when the TV was turned off. We had the TV evaluated but it was not a TV fault.

Flash forward to the present, and the issue continues. But it's not just the TV anymore - all sorts of things in the house will buzz intermittently, and all at the same time. This includes LED lights, phone charges, computer transformers, the coffee maker and all GFCI outlets. We have confirmed that the issue is not confined to one circuit and it is independent of all circuits on the subpanel - you can isolate any circuit at the subpanel and items powers from it will buzz even if all other circuits are off. We've also ruled out dimmers because the issue persists even if circuits will dimmers are powered off. It happens under light and heavy load, and it's getting worse (the TV is unwatchable when it's happening). So, we know it's not an individual circuit or device that is to blame.