Wiring a dual switch to a dimmer and fan

Old 05-07-16, 11:02 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring a dual switch to a dimmer and fan

So I am trying to take an exisitng two switch panel and make it so one side controls the dimmable lights attached to the ceiling fan and the other side controls the fan speeds and the fan itself. There was already a fan attached, but the right side of the panel seems to control the AC outlet below it. Here's what I got When I disconnect the original switches from the wall:

[ATTACH=CONFIG]65915[/ATTACH]

AFter some messing around this is what I came up with (i'm a noob and learning as I go). In this pic the dimmer switch functions properly, but I can't seem to find the proper combination to get the fan working:

[ATTACH=CONFIG]65916[/ATTACH]

There is a set of black wires attached to a nut and set of white wires attached to a nut. Theres also one standalone red wire coming from the box. I know I need to leave the red and white striped wire on the fan switch capped and unattached, but how do I get the fan up and running from the wall? The dimmer switch works perfectly, but the fan not so muhc.

Any and all help is appreciated!!!

Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
Old 05-07-16, 11:08 AM
Group Moderator
Received 479 Votes on 449 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

In your application it sounds like there is only one usable wire/conductor to the ceiling fan area where you would need two.

I see a red wire on the fan switch..... you need to open the fan canopy and see if you have a three wire cable feeding it and what the black wire is doing up there.

Old 05-07-16, 07:03 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
The standalone red may be the lead going to the fan. Can you drop the canopy and tell us the connections at the ceiling for the fan? How is the fan controlled now?

Old 05-09-16, 09:38 AM
So I removed the fan from the ceiling and this is what I found coming out of the ceiling

Name:  IMG_20160509_112603.jpg
Views: 263