Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Questions about running 240v to the work room from the panel.

Old 05-09-16, 11:35 AM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

Hello,

I've been making money repairing PCs out of my house since 2005 or so. As time progressed, I started getting into repairing other types of electronics (tvs for example). I've now found myself in need of a BGA rework station. I ordered and received a lower end Scotle HR-460C BGA Rework Station. Supposedly, the unit requires 4,800 watts to run. The previous owner had a certified electrician install a 12-gauge cord into the unit with a 240v plug. Because I'm having difficulties locating the outlet locally, I've decided to switch to a different type plug.

Since this unit is going to be running at 240v, I figure it's going to be drawing 20-amp. Ohm's law tells me 240v * 20A = 4,800 watt. I have a double-pole 30-amp breaker in the panel. I figured I'd install a 30-amp plug on the unit, install a 30-amp outlet into the work room wall, and then run the wire to the breaker panel. I was thinking of just running the wires over the rafters in the attic, if I can get there. It'd be around 25 feet.

Can I just use 10/2 MC for this? Also, could I use this outlet:
30 Amp 250-Volt 3-Wire Grounding Locking Single Outlet - Black-L630RCCV3 - The Home Depot

And this plug:
30 Amp 250-Volt Locking Plug-L630PCCV3 - The Home Depot

Or is there a certain type of plug for certain types of appliances?

Also, if I can use that outlet, would I want a single gang or a double gang electrical box? I'm having trouble finding a cover as well. Home Depot (where I plan on getting everything) doesn't seem to list the width of the hole for the covers. I think I'll just have to go up there and try to match a faceplate to the actual outlet, assuming I can use that outlet.

Thanks!