Ground conductor size?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-17-16, 09:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ground conductor size?

Hey all,

A friend just bought a new place that has a shop that is fed from the homes 200amp panel. They ran 2/0 2/0 1/0 (underground AL) about 100' from a 125amp breaker in the main panel to the subpanel in the shop, but ran no ground to the sub. I want to add the ground ... would 4awg be correct?

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-17-16, 01:17 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Use #6 copper or #4 aluminum. If you use aluminum it needs to be insulated with an appropriate insulation for use underground.

Also note that once the ground is added to the subpanel feeder, the neutral bus needs to be isolated in the subpanel and a ground bus needs to be added.

This is a good time to verify the outbuilding has at least one ground rod connected to the ground bus with #6 copper.
 
  #3  
Old 05-17-16, 01:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Grassi ...exactly what we were thinking
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: