Electrical for submersible pond pump?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-26-16, 04:03 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electrical for submersible pond pump?

Small pond (about 5ft diam) using a submerged pump to push water through a couple decorative fixtures at edge of pond. The pump is powered from a std 120v wall switch inside the house, not on a GFCI breaker. The pump power cord is tied directly by wire nuts to the power conductors at an undersized junction box (without a cover) about 3ft from the pond.
Name:  pond_elect.jpg
Views: 752
Size:  24.8 KB

Apparently a DIY by previous homeowner. It was hidden by nearby plants so we missed it during home inspection. As I read it, NEC 682 applies and for the pump stipulates a GFCI protected receptacle at least 5ft (horiz) from pond and 1ft above electrical datum (3ft above surface my location).

Does this require a service disconnect ahead of and nearby the receptacle?

Given the 5ft & 3ft requirements, it would seem a submersible pump with a rather long (10ft or so) power cord would be needed.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-26-16, 04:12 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
A cord and plug will serve as the disconnect. The GFCI receptacle needs to be outdoor rated and an in-use cover installed. Are you replacing the pump or just adding a plug to the cord?

Name:  c26-B002W6ZP0K-3-s.jpg
Views: 3065
Size:  19.0 KB
http://www.amazon.com/Arlington-Indu.../dp/B002W6ZP0K
 
  #3  
Old 05-26-16, 04:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,096
Received 1,112 Votes on 1,032 Posts
In your picture.... that "cover" is called an LB. It's actually used as a pull point when pulling wires thru a pipe.

Your description of receptacle placement is good. Yes... it needs to be a GFI receptacle or protected circuit.

Most of those pumps are designed for light duty pumping.... especially pool covers. I have several of them. The cords are 10-15' long.
 
  #4  
Old 05-26-16, 05:35 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 55
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thx guys, appreciated. Yes, I'm replacing the pump, it's pretty ancient anyway.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: