Running a Furnace off of an inverter

Old 05-27-16, 09:49 AM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Running a Furnace off of an inverter

Hi...This is my first time posting here and I'm a DIY guy but not an electrician. I understand the basics.

I've recently installed a furnace in our mountain cabin which runs on Solar electric power. I have 5 deep cycle batteries that have always done the job well. Until recently I ran a 1500 watt pure sine wave inverter which handled everything I needed. When I started the new furnace up (1/3 horse power fan motor) it tripped the reset on the inverter. I assumed that it simply wasn't powerful enough for the surge from the blower motor which I estimated at 1750. So naturally I spent the money for a 5000 watt inverter. I figured better safe than sorry! I hooked the whole thing up and the blower kicked the inverter out again. I'm feeling a bit defeated and wondering if I needed to go to the larger inverter at all.

The system is wired as follows: Solar panels into a solar controller...controller into battery bank...battery bank to inverter...inverter to breaker box...to a 20 amp breaker for the furnace...breaker to a double box...into an outlet...out of the outlet to a single pole switch which turns the furnace on and off.

I think that's all the info you might need to diagnose this...I appreciate any help anyone can give me! Thanks!

Steve

Last edited by Steve Duprey; 05-27-16 at 10:07 AM.
Old 05-29-16, 04:44 PM
A
Received 109 Votes on 101 Posts
What is the wire size from the batteries to the inverter? What is the distance?

Have you tried to measure the voltage drop using a voltmeter as the furnace starts up, both at the inverter input and at the furnace?

I am estimating 300 amps from the batteries for a few to several seconds as the furnace starts up.

Old 05-29-16, 04:49 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts