Manufactured Home light switch replacement

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-27-16, 01:44 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Manufactured Home light switch replacement

I am trying to replace a light switch in my manufactured home. When I pulled it from the wall, I noticed 3 sets of wires attached to the old switch. After doing some research, I found I need to use a "workbox" as a replacement to go into the existing opening. I need to know how to attach the existing 3 sets of wires to my new switch. Attached are images of the old switch and the new one I am replacing it with. Thanks.
Name:  switch.jpg
Views: 30286
Size:  28.2 KB
Name:  01-switch-front-and-back.jpg
Views: 21081
Size:  27.8 KB
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 05-27-16, 01:59 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Hard for me to see but best guess is one cable is power in (line). One cable is unswitched power out (load) and the third cable is switched power to the light. If I am correct:
  • All whites wire nutted together.
  • Black of switched power to the light to one side of the switch.
  • Black of power in and black of unswitched power out connected to a pigtail.
  • Pigtail to other screw on switch.

Name:  x_zps917d37e7.jpg
Views: 17587
Size:  17.9 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 05-27-16 at 03:01 PM.
  #3  
Old 05-27-16, 03:24 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Any idea which is the power (in) line? Would that be the one in my photo of the original box that is on top (the one with the black stripe)?
thanks
 
  #4  
Old 05-27-16, 08:42 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The power in cable is the one that when disconnected measures 120 volts black to white using a multimeter. (A non contact tester won't work.)
 
  #5  
Old 05-27-16, 09:55 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ray's diagram is probably correct. However it's unclear which switch you purchased.
The pictures you posted are two different switches, and that matters.
The switch on the left (front view) is a single pole single throw switch, the switch on the right (rear view) looks like a 3-way switch.
You need the switch on the left, A SPST. It will have 2 brass colored terminals and a ground screw only. It will also be marked "top" on the frame.
 
  #6  
Old 05-27-16, 10:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,936
Received 1,348 Votes on 1,246 Posts
Usually in a box of that type (stab) there are only two cables. I'm not sure you can fit a standard switch in that box with three cables. It will be tight.
 
  #7  
Old 05-28-16, 03:52 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The image I posted of the new switch was pulled from the internet. The back side is correct and represents the new switch I bought. Here is the actual front view of the switch.
So I guess the question is: do I have the right switch, or do I need to get a Single Pole-2 way switch?Name:  new switch.jpg
Views: 14686
Size:  27.8 KB
 

Last edited by Raoul Borans; 05-28-16 at 05:44 AM.
  #8  
Old 05-28-16, 08:44 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,808
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
Devices used in manufactured homes are not the same as the ones used in a standard stick built house. They are self contained devices and do not require a box. The switch you are installing does require a box.

To properly install the new switch a remodel plastic box will need to be installed. The cables will be spliced in the box as Ray showed in his diagram and then the switch will attach to the new box. The cables/wires appear to be rather short so they might need to be extended.

Your other option is to purchase a self contained switch like this: Pass & Seymour Almond Self Contained Rocker Wall Switch | Mobile Home Parts Store

Your other option
 
  #9  
Old 05-28-16, 09:05 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's exactly what I need!
Thanks
 
  #10  
Old 05-28-16, 10:01 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
do I have the right switch....Single Pole-2 way switch?
No such switch in the U.S. You need a single pole single throw switch (SPST AKA regular light switch) if it is wired as I think it is. When you wrote:
I need to use a "workbox" as a replacement to go into the existing opening.
I thought you meant an old work box such as this:

Name:  034481100157lg.jpg
Views: 14401
Size:  6.4 KB
 
  #11  
Old 05-28-16, 10:10 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That is what I meant, in regard to the work box. I've seen several tutorials showing the work box as a replacement where the old switch box was. I picked up one just like the image you posted.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: