Doorbell Wiring

Old 06-07-16, 11:36 PM
J
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Doorbell Wiring

I could use some help figuring out what's going on with my doorbell. Disconnected the chime and took it off the wall to paint - it was working fine, and I swear I labeled my wires and drew myself a little diagram, hooked it up the same as it was, and now it's not working. I've tried just about every combination, and checked the button and I'm stumped. I know I could just get a wireless one, and forget about this, but I'm into it now, and determined to figure it out. I'm not that experienced with electrical, so I hope this isn't too obvious...

OK, it's a single doorbell, front only. Here is the transformer.

Attachment 67037

The blue and white wires are attached, and the orange and white go to nothing.

Here is the chime.

Name:  IMAG0887.jpg
Views: 11337
Size:  23.1 KB

To the left are the wires from the transformer. I assume I just leave the short orange and white wires going to nothing, just like back at the transformer, correct? Where should the long blue and white wires go? If I touch blue to TRANS and white to FRONT (or vice versa), the chime will ring, but stick and hum in the on position. Normal I guess, because the doorbell button is not in the loop at this point? Should they both go to TRANS?

To the right are the wires coming in from the button I assume. The blue and white are unused, still covered with insulation. I'm guessing the short orange wire is what I need to connect to the FRONT terminal?

Here is the button.

Name:  IMAG0888.jpg
Views: 7481
Size:  16.9 KB

You can see the orange and the white connect to the button. I'm assuming the orange is the one I'm guessing I need to connect to FRONT at the chime?