connection at the breaker box

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-08-16, 02:28 PM
9
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 132
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
connection at the breaker box

Hello,

I need a temporary 240 volt connection at the breaker box. I was wondering if it would be acceptable if I just use a well protected flexible cord with a receptacle on the other end for the connection. The receptacle will obviously be in a metal gang box to protect it. I only plan on having the flexible cord only about a foot long.


Thank you

receptacle:Name:  plug.jpg
Views: 212
Size:  6.2 KB

cord:Name:  cord.PNG
Views: 178
Size:  22.4 KB
 
  #2  
Old 06-08-16, 02:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You will need to use a breaker. You can't just connect to the box if that is what you planed.
 
  #3  
Old 06-08-16, 02:37 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,963
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Can you installation box with a nipple next to the panel? Otherwise the cord with 2 strain relief connectors would be fine.
 
  #4  
Old 06-08-16, 02:49 PM
9
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 132
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, there will be a breaker. I was just wondering if the flexible cord at one foot would be ok. I usually see these cords from the breaker box to the metal gang box enclosed in metal conduit. However, I only intend it to be one foot long with cord that I think is acceptable.

Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 06-08-16, 02:53 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,963
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Why # 4 that appears to be a 50 A receptacle # 6 would be fine.
 
  #6  
Old 06-08-16, 02:53 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
The code answer is no, it's not acceptable. There's no difference between temporary and permanent. Would it be ok for a short time? Probably. I would want to make sure everything is secured well, even though it's temporary. It's easy to trip over a cord and cause a big problem.
 
  #7  
Old 06-08-16, 04:16 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,650
Received 48 Votes on 43 Posts
Instead of cord pick up some cable. 6/3 NM-B is usually available by the foot.
 
  #8  
Old 06-09-16, 07:15 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,763
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
I need a temporary 240 volt connection at the breaker box
A 240 volt circuit has 3 wires just as the cord you are showing us, but you are showing a 120/240 volt 4-wire receptacle. Are you installing a 240 volt or a 120/240 volt circuit. I'd also not use the cord and would use THHN conductors or 6-3 NM-B cable.
 
  #9  
Old 06-09-16, 11:26 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,541
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Use a surface mount receptacle, offset nipples, and #6 THHN.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: