Multimeter replacement fuse

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-11-16, 01:33 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,914
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Multimeter replacement fuse

I am wanting to replace the fuse for my Radio Shack 22-109 multimeter. The replacement, apparently, should be a "315 mA/250V fast blow fuse" according to what's printed directly on the circuit board next to where the fuse installation is. On the fuse itself it says "F315mAH250V". So I went to our local radio shack and they looked and said they don't stock that one. They said it is ceramic and all they have is a glass so probably wouldn't work as a replacement. There's no place else locally that sells little fuses like that. I looked in ebay and found these, I suppose they'd be the proper replacement, but I'd have to get a whole pack of five, plus pay the shipping: 5 Qty 5x20mm 315mA Fast Blow Fuse 250V 315mA 217 Ceramic | eBay I don't know what the 217 in the description refers to or whether that could matter.
Any comments on whether those on that ebay listing would be the right replacement, or any comments otherwise appreciated. Here's a picture of my blown fuse and my meter circuit board.

 

Last edited by sgull; 06-11-16 at 02:19 PM.
  #2  
Old 06-11-16, 01:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,773
Received 1,322 Votes on 1,222 Posts
Yes.... the ones on Ebay are good. I've used 500ma standard fuses in a pinch.

Your meter blew the fuse because you were on the wrong scale or connecting to voltage over the meters limit.. Possibly trying to measure voltage on a current scale.
 
  #3  
Old 06-11-16, 01:51 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Try Home Depot or a hardware store also before you order. Electronic or even electrical supply houses are also places to try.
 
  #4  
Old 06-11-16, 01:56 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,914
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Try Home Depot or a hardware store also before you order.
I would but we don't have a Home Depot here, believe it or not. Got one hardware store, a True Value, but they said no go to Radio Shack. No electronic supply houses or electronic stores here either, in this little town. But thanks for the suggestions... You'd think the Radio Shack would've had one, but NO.
 

Last edited by sgull; 06-11-16 at 02:17 PM.
  #5  
Old 06-11-16, 02:09 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,914
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Yes.... the ones on Ebay are good.
Your meter blew the fuse because you were on the wrong scale or connecting to voltage over the meters limit.. Possibly trying to measure voltage on a current scale.
Okay thanks PJ will go ahead get the Ebay 5-pack. Not sure what I'll do with the four extra remaining replacements though because I'm sure I'll never be on the wrong scale or connect voltage over the meters limit again.
 
  #6  
Old 06-11-16, 02:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You'd think the Radio Shack would've had one, but NO.
Tried the Shack once for a fuse and the clerk was so un informed about fuses I just gave up because she kept trying to sell me fuses that obviously wouldn't work for my specs. Not my first bad experience so I always try to look up the catalog number on line first then go in with the catalog number.
 
  #7  
Old 06-11-16, 02:41 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,914
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Tried the Shack once for a fuse Not my first bad experience so I always try to look up the catalog number on line first then go in with the catalog number.
You mean the catalog number for the Radio Shack product? My multimeter says Cat. No. 22-109. I took in the actual blown fuse and showed it to the girl there. She looked in their fuse bin/drawers and couldn't come up with a ceramic one of that size/type, she said.
 
  #8  
Old 06-11-16, 03:43 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
I'm sure I'll never be on the wrong scale or connect voltage over the meters limit again.
Famous last words! I don't know how many times I have been measuring both current and voltage with my Fluke meters and accidentally forgotten to switch from current back to voltage BEFORE measuring voltage. I like to buy the replacement fuses in five packs because I KNOW I will need another one sooner or later.
 
  #9  
Old 06-11-16, 03:59 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,914
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Famous last words!
Naw... I'm sure I will never ever do that again.
 
  #10  
Old 06-11-16, 04:01 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You mean the catalog number for the Radio Shack product?
No, I meant look at RS on line for the fuse than give them that catalog number for the fuse.
 
  #11  
Old 06-11-16, 04:59 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,914
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Looks like RS on line doesn't show any ceramic one either of the size I want. Lists the glass one though.

https://www.radioshack.com/apps/sear...D=product_type

https://www.radioshack.com/products/...ant=5717245381
 
  #12  
Old 06-11-16, 06:39 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
And glass is fine. Just copy down the catalog number and take it with you. In the past I have just printed out the whole page and given it to them.
 
  #13  
Old 06-11-16, 06:55 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,914
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Glass is fine? But, as I mentioned in my initial post here, the girl there at Radio Shack said they had a glass one but that it "wouldn't work" as a replacement for my "ceramic" one.

Edit: Did a bit of googling "research". safety - Fuses: What are the practical differences between Ceramic and Glass cartridge fuses - Electrical Engineering Stack Exchange
Might be a practical reason discussed there as to why or why not I should or shouldn't go glass/ceramic.
 

Last edited by sgull; 06-11-16 at 08:44 PM.
  #14  
Old 06-11-16, 08:21 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Interesting. I don't have an answer.
 
  #15  
Old 06-11-16, 09:25 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,914
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Decided to order up that 5-pack of the ceramic type on Ebay; total cost including shipping: $4.64. The price on just a single one of those glass ones from the local Radio Shack was about 4 bucks anyway.
Thanks for all the input/comments.
 
  #16  
Old 06-11-16, 10:08 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
I think that was the best idea. I would not hesitate substituting a ceramic fuse for a glass one but I would not go the other way.
 
  #17  
Old 06-11-16, 10:16 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,634
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The ordinary glass AGC fuses that Radio Shack carries are rated to only 125 volts. It's not unusual to find 12 volt-marked ones since they're pretty common in older cars and trucks.

I don't know your meter but many are certified safe to 600 or even 1000V. To maintain that level of safety you don't want to use a fuse with a rating less than that.
The ceramic fuses I keep on hand to repair these meters are rated to 1000V.

The eBay ones will work in a pinch but do have a lower voltage rating.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: