Breaker that runs subpanel is tripping

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-12-16, 03:19 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Breaker that runs subpanel is tripping

I ran some 10/3 wire from a 30 amp 240 v breaker at main panel to a subpanel. subpanel with ground bus. red and black to hot busses, and neutral to neutral bus. the previous owner of the home had run some 12/2 to this panel, and just ran one hot wire in, and had the neutral returning. The ground wire was wound together with all the grounds from the three circuit breakers in the subpanel. this subpanel is now wired exactly as in the diagram on this forum, for a subpanel in the same building, with no attachment to ground rod. when i switch on the breaker at the main panel it shorts out. there was a spark inside the main panel when i switched on breaker. the 10/3 wire does not seem compromised, nor were there any contacts between ground wire and hot bus in the main panel. what is the problem? is subpanel faulty?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-12-16, 03:35 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
Disconnect wires at sub panel and see if the breaker pops now. If not you have something wrong in sub but if pops than in wire.
 
  #3  
Old 06-12-16, 03:46 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
It wouldn't hurt to post pictures of the inside of your two panels showing how things are connected. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...your-post.html
 
  #4  
Old 06-12-16, 04:05 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
it still pops. i will re-examine the wire and rerun it if needed. thank you! and thank you to chandler too
 
  #5  
Old 06-12-16, 05:57 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,890
Received 81 Votes on 76 Posts
Better off using a multimeter to find the problem then testing by using the breaker.
 
  #6  
Old 06-12-16, 10:06 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,175
Received 92 Votes on 79 Posts
Did you remove the old feed to the panel?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: