Help confirming generator cord

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-14-16, 07:37 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 51
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Help confirming generator cord

My house has an interlock kit installed and a generator inlet outside with what appears to be a 50 amp CS6364. My Champion generator has a L14-30R receptacle, I understand this is only 30 amps but it should meet my power requirements. So I think I'm looking for a CS6364 to L14-30P cord which seems to fairly uncommon (I did find a few such as this: https://www.amazon.com/Conntek-Trans...dp/B005HYY2M6/ ). Are there any issues with this setup that I should be aware of, or a better way to feed my panel with this generator?

Thanks.
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 06-14-16, 07:47 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,403
Received 1,403 Votes on 1,298 Posts
Better way.... not really. You need a cord with different ends.

That cord in your link will work. I make my own as I have the cable on a reel and the caps loose.

I would highly recommend checking that cord after it is connected and powered before doing a transfer. Best way to check it is at the transfer breaker inside the panel.
 
  #3  
Old 06-14-16, 08:01 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 51
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the input. How would I check the cord?

I could have an electrician come out and replace the CS6364 receptacle, that would be quick work but would likely cost as much as buying the $150 cable. Glad the cable is a viable option.
 
  #4  
Old 06-15-16, 11:33 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,669
Received 176 Votes on 157 Posts
The benefit of leaving the receptacle as-is if you ever decide to upgrade your generator, you are all set for a 50A feed.


I think Pete was suggesting for you to wire up your new cord, plug it in and turn on the generator.
Open the breaker box and using a meter, check at the transfer breaker (still off), that you have 240v between H-H, and 120v between each Hot and Neutral. You'll want to find out about any miswiring before you flip the transfer switch.
 
  #5  
Old 06-15-16, 01:31 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 51
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the input, expensive cord will be ordered!
 
  #6  
Old 06-15-16, 01:57 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,942
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
Replacing that flanged 50A inlet with the 30A version would be a quick DIY job. Materials would be much less expensive than cable adapters.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: