Outlet/switch combo on my furnace

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-20-16, 07:27 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Outlet/switch combo on my furnace

There is an Outlet / Switch in a single box attached to my Furnace.. there is a separate emergency shutoff switch in the hallway for the furnace.. what is the attached one for and can I use it for a dehumidifier or should I run a new circuit?

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 06-20-16, 08:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,326 Votes on 1,225 Posts
By code you need a service switch AT or within direct sight of the equipment. Many times a second switch is installed at the entrance to the furnace room or at the top of the stairway leading to the basement.

Normally that receptacle is used for a condensate pump, humidifier or service light.

A dehumidifier is usually plugged into a GFI receptacle in the basement.
 
  #3  
Old 06-21-16, 06:03 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,957
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
I would use that outlet for the dehumidifier ,although all new receptacles in a basement are required to be GFCI that is an existing receptacle,I don't know of a requirement that a dehumidifier must be plugged into GFCI
 
  #4  
Old 06-21-16, 09:55 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,326 Votes on 1,225 Posts
There is no requirement that a dehumidifier be plugged into a GFI receptacle but general use receptacles in a basement are supposed to be of the GFI type.

Since the furnace won't be running when the dehumidifier is.... that receptacle should be ok to use.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: