Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Is my electrical service enough to operate this tankless water heater ??

Is my electrical service enough to operate this tankless water heater ??

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-22-16, 12:25 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 83
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is my electrical service enough to operate this tankless water heater ??

My water heater is old enough I want to replace it before I have problems with it. I'm looking at this tankless water heater.......

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...A388J3561K0IVV

I just looked at my breaker box, and my main breaker is a 100A breaker.

I live in a small home, by myself. It has a 2 year old furnace, older CA unit, electric dryer, and I have electric run to my garage using two 20A breakers.

Does this home have sufficient electrical service to operate this tankless water heater ??
 
  #2  
Old 06-22-16, 12:37 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 83
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Never mind, I found the answer in the listing for the unit. I missed that info on previous reads.

This posting can be deleted, as I answered my own question.
 
  #3  
Old 06-22-16, 01:21 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
There are many who are of the opinion that tankless water heaters are just not a good value. In your case you have just learned that it would cost you $1500-$3000 to install a new electrical service to handle it. Even after that the amount of money spent water flow and temperature would sometimes probably not have been satisfactory given it is only 60 amps.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: