Need help with wiring from junction box

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-28-16, 08:09 PM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help with wiring from junction box

Name:  IMG_2739.jpg
Views: 215
Size:  21.9 KBI needed to take out 2 junction boxes in the ceiling today to replace 2 hallway lights with recessed lights. The first went fine (there was only one set of black and white wires to connect to). Ran into some issues with the second and spent several hours trying to figure it out. I'm hoping someone can help.

When I took the box out there were 4 sets of wires connected. Two had Red, Black, and White wires, and 2 had Black and White only.

I can't get the lights to work properly. I've identified that only one of the groupings (one of the 2 that has only a black and white wire)- is live. All the other wires are dead. The two sets that have red, white, and black go to the 2 hallway light switches. I can't find where the third set that has only a white and black goes. I'm assuming power outlets in an adjacent bedroom. If i don't connect those, and just work with the others- connecting black to black, white to white, red to red- and then the red to the black on the light fixture- I can get the lights to work. When I add the other black and white in, it trips the breaker.

Any suggestions? I'm thinking some of the red/black need to be connected together.
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 06-28-16, 08:51 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You have only showed us half the circuit. The other half is at the switch box(es). Is it a three way switch circuit?
 
  #3  
Old 06-28-16, 08:56 PM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Ray. Yes, the two switches are three way switches.
 
  #4  
Old 06-28-16, 09:02 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Please show us the switches.
 
  #5  
Old 06-29-16, 05:43 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
Every recessed light I have seen for the past ten years or so calls for 90 degree C rated insulation. You do not have that.
 
  #6  
Old 06-29-16, 06:02 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,963
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Looks like a non metallic connector on that BX cable,the best bet there is after you figure out the splices,make it up neatly and but the box above the ceiling with a new short cable to the fixture using NM-B cable 90*C also do the other fixture the same way.
 
  #7  
Old 06-29-16, 06:27 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,740
Received 22 Votes on 21 Posts
Cables

I can't find where the third set that has only a white and black goes
Check to see if it goes to the other light fixture.
 
  #8  
Old 06-29-16, 09:21 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would be VERY reluctant to re-connect the conductors extending from the cable ends in their present condition; they may have been adversely affected by the heat emitted by incandescence lamps.

Is there attic space above the ceiling? ; if so, you could use junction boxes for re-connecting the cables with 6 inches of exposed conductor lenth after you have snipped off the ends of the conductors now extending from the cable ends.

Also , the colors of conductors,now concealed behind the armor ,will be more visible.
 
  #9  
Old 06-29-16, 11:01 AM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  IMG_2747.jpg
Views: 204
Size:  34.3 KBName:  IMG_2748.jpg
Views: 184
Size:  30.3 KB

Here's the two light switches. At this point, I'm just trying to get the lights to work again and I'll stick with flush mount fixtures. The other hot and neutral wires went to bedroom 2 and 3's lights and outlets.
 
  #10  
Old 06-29-16, 01:39 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
You are going to have the same insulation requirements for a surface mount fixture.
 
  #11  
Old 06-29-16, 09:12 PM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There was a surface mount light fixture already installed there... not sure why it can't be replaced.

I have an electrician coming tomorrow.
 
  #12  
Old 06-29-16, 10:17 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
Likely the old fixture did not have the same requirement as a newer fixture.
 
  #13  
Old 07-24-16, 10:43 PM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks everyone for your help. In the end, i called in an electrician who said it was a "Chicago three way" and he was able to fix it. We went with two semi flush light fixtures and all is fine.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: