Sub Panel needed

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-03-16, 08:35 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sub Panel needed

ok the project call for a sub panel install in a renovated extension, the main panel is 200A, the sub panel will feed a small kitchen, so I stove 40a a fridge and two 20a outlet, there will be a small bathroom with GFI outlet and a bedroom, I'm not certain yet of the dimension of the extension. the heating will also be electrical, a 240v-20A-dbl breaker should be enough for maximum 3750watts. of course lights and a few regular 15a outlet, So my question is, can I simply put a 60A sub panel or I need a 100A, I suppose it will during winter that the demand could be high. I think 60A is enough but I'm still not certain.

thanks!
 

Last edited by jyt123; 07-03-16 at 09:59 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-03-16, 09:58 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Definitely a 100 amp sub panel so you have enough spaces for breakers. While a 100 amp subpanel can be on a 60 amp breaker in this case a 100 amp breaker makes sense because of the stove.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: