Standby Generator Only Outputting 24V

Old 07-08-16, 08:16 AM
A
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Standby Generator Only Outputting 24V

I have an older Lombardini Diesel motor with a Getech generator on it. It is a self regulating capacitor set. I do not know much more than that and Im not sure what size it is. The label is worn off, but it is assumed to be at least 18kw, with the potential to be up to 25kw. At any rate, it has recently stopped outputting power. A while back, it stopped working and the generator repair tech put on two new 25uF capacitors and its been working fine. However, the other day, the transfer switch would not kick over and it does not indicate that backup power is available. I measured both legs directly on the genset and I get 24V. I also took off the capacitors and tested those and they check OK. The repair tech came out and stared at it for an hour, called his boss and sent pictures and then called me and told me he was instructed to stop working on it because its too old and they can't get parts and its dangerous or some BS. Don't know about that, nor do I care. I pretty much think he didnt want to mess with it, and thats fine, but im stuck without a functional unit and very few people in my area know anything about generators unless its a Generac that they sold. So....I need some assistance.

Is there anything I can DO to get this thing running? I am comfortable around electricity but aside from capacitors, have no idea how this one works or what causes low output on something with so few components.

Old 07-08-16, 05:23 PM
Group Moderator
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
I assume that the diesel motor works fine it just does not output any voltage at the genset? Have your tried putting a load directly off the generator bypassing the transfer switch?

Looking online it appears that Gentech are most hydraulically driven generators, so perhaps this has been cobbled together?