Drilling through existing wall studs with no drywall work

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-16-16, 07:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 72
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Drilling through existing wall studs with no drywall work

I have a outlet that is under a window I want to add one apx 32" over to the side.

There are (2) 12/2 Romex in that box so there is a good chance that one of the wires are going-coming from that direction.

What is the minimum size hole to fit a 12/2 Romex through safely?

I see the 48" flex bits but they are expensive. I see harbor freight has one that is only 3/8" but doubt that would work as 3/8 is probably too small for $7-8.

I will need to drill through 2 studs. The one where the existing box is should be easy if I can remove the box but then the one 16" over I will need to drill through. Then I would mount the new box over on near the 3rd stud. getting me apx 32" over.


Any tips on what I need-could use to make these holes?
I am hoping to do this without any drywall repair work.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-16-16, 07:56 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,419
Received 21 Votes on 20 Posts
Wires in wall are most likely to short to be tapped into. Much easier to come from a existing outlet. There are old work boxes that you just cut drywall out to size of box. And there are long drills bits to drill studs in wall. Here is a old work box
Shop old work box at Lowes.com: Search Results
and this is one of the drills
Shop long electrial drill bit at Lowes.com: Search Results
There are others.
 
  #3  
Old 07-16-16, 08:29 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,699
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
By code.... the cabling needs to fastened within 6" of the junction box. That makes the cable pretty well set in place and not usable.

As you are drilling under a window.... you may find double studs both sides on the edge of the window

Do you have a basement below ? Easier to go down underneath and back up.
 
  #4  
Old 07-16-16, 01:14 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is not my favorite method, but is your baseboard high enough to remove it and cut a slot in the wall behind it? The slot needs to be high enough to fit a flex bit or spade bit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: