Ground metal junction box?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-20-16, 08:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ground metal junction box?

Hello!

I'm redoing a room of mine where I'm taking out the single light and adding recessed lights along with adding more outlets. Adding the outlets is not the confusion here. I plan to run a wire from each of the new lights (2 total) into the new junction box and splice the wires together. My question is, do I need to attach the ground wires to the junction box via the ground screw? I plan on doing all the electrical work (I'm 17 ) myself and I want to make sure I'm meeting electrical code.

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-20-16, 08:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,485
Received 28 Votes on 22 Posts
If you use a metal junction box it MUST be properly grounded. If you use a plastic box then (of course) there is no place for a grounding conductor and grounding would make no sense as the plastic is an insulator.
 
  #3  
Old 07-20-16, 08:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 52
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's what I figured. I'll make sure to ground the box. Thanks!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: