Multiple UF cables in one LB box

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-21-16, 06:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Multiple UF cables in one LB box

I'm running three different branch circuits from a single subpanel, two 20 amp and one 15 amp. I'm wondering how to get them outside the building.
1) Can I use a single LB box?
2) If so, I'd need a one inch LB, I think. I don't see any junction boxes with a knockout that big. The cables will only be going about 2 feet to the panel, so can I just bring them out of the LB and directly to the panel if they're properly supported?
3) If not, can I use three 1/2 inch LB boxes?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-21-16, 07:38 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
Best practice is to use single conductor wires not cable if this will be continuous conduit. If they are to a single building you can only have one circuit to that building. If it already has a circuit then you can replace that circuit but you can't add another circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 07-21-16, 07:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Oh, I see I forgot to mention I'm running UF cable for the underground feed. The UF will come up to the LB in conduit, then enter the building.
 
  #4  
Old 07-21-16, 10:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,967
Likes Received: 155
Technically you're running three circuits in UF and then you're using a short piece of conduit from the ground up and in to the back of a sub panel. That would be called sleeving the cables.

A single 1" or 1-1/4" conduit and LB would be ok. 3/4" would be too small.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes