Questions About Circuit Breaker Box

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-22-16, 07:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 217
Questions About Circuit Breaker Box

Recently my 22 year old 5KW generator failed (stator bad) and I'm going to buy an inverter type generator to replace it. My old generator put out 240 V so plugging it into my 240 V welding outlet in the basement would power the entire house with AC units shut off. The inverter generators only put out 120 V but have two outlets. Would it be possible to make up the three pronged plug with 120 V from each generator outlet (one hot 120 V to each hot side of 240 plug) plus the ground on the third part of the plug. That way I can have 120 V (in phase) on each side of the breaker box. My water heater, furnaces, and stovetop are gas. The oven is electric but it would not be used. There are no other 240 V users in the house. I don't see a problem with this hookup. Do you?

My second question concerns the breaker box. I have unused positions on each side of the box. Is there a plug in device sold that can be placed in a breaker position but is a female receptacle instead of a breaker? That way I could make up a male-male grounded plug and directly connect the new generator.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-22-16, 08:16 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,802
Likes Received: 5
The big problem is your use of a suicide cord and the lack of the required interlock. You cannot rely on turning off the main breaker to kill power going upstream. You have been creating a potentially deadly condition.
 
  #3  
Old 07-22-16, 08:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 217
I've done it for 22 years when needed which is about once a year. Why can't one rely on the main breaker to kill power going upstream? "Suicide cord" term suggests danger to me. Maybe you should have said homicide cord.
 
  #4  
Old 07-22-16, 09:02 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,802
Likes Received: 5
An interlock is required by the electrical code.

Homicide or suicide. Does it matter? Someone is dead because the proper materials and procedures and rules were not followed.
 
  #5  
Old 07-22-16, 09:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 217
Guess my questions are not going to be answered here. One answer is common sense. The other requires an internet search for a product to determine if such exists.
 
  #6  
Old 07-22-16, 09:29 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,802
Likes Received: 5
Generator interlock and brackets are available from a variety of sources including the panel manufacturer.
 
  #7  
Old 07-22-16, 09:30 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Likes Received: 13
The other requires an internet search for a product to determine if such exists.
It doesn't exist because it would be a code violation and dangerous to use. It is easy to do the right and safe way so why not do it that way?
 
  #8  
Old 07-22-16, 10:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,414
Likes Received: 5
Lawrence, if you are looking for someone to sprinkle holy water on your UNLAWFUL and DANGEROUS project you will not find them on this forum. The fact that you have "gotten away with" your UNLAWFUL procedure for twenty or more years is irrelevant. All that means is that you, or someone else if you are unable for any reason to do the change-over yourself, are closer than ever to making a mistake, one that could be FATAL.
 
  #9  
Old 07-22-16, 10:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 217
This thread should be ended.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes