Running a 240v pool pump from 2 x 110v?

Old 07-23-16, 12:09 AM
P
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Running a 240v pool pump from 2 x 110v?

I am NOT an electrician nor do I really understand wiring etc. But I want to figure out what is going on with my pool pump which wonít power up. My pool guy is only good for cleaning and could not figure it out. I am running an Intermatic timer (model T104R3) and Century brand pool pump. These clearly 240v equipment. Normally the timer if running on a normal 240v circuit would have 3 wires. But the previous homeowner (or electrician?) has six wires going into the timer. This was confirmed to be 2 120v lines. However at the main circuit box I only have one Pushmatic 120v circuit breaker controlling things. After setting the breaker to off and turning it back on to test something else, the timer and the pump no longer work. I had an electrician out here and all he could tell me was he could hook it up properly as a 220v by running another line or swapping the box for something more modern. What I want to understand is how it worked before and why would turning off the breaker and back on cause all this? Based on my laymanís understanding you can get 240VAC from two 120VAC if each 120VAC circuit is on a different phase. This appears to be the case with my setup. But where is the other 120VAC coming from the main box or has it been spliced in somewhere?

Old 07-23-16, 01:30 AM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Normally the timer if running on a normal 240v circuit would have 3 wires
No. 240v is two hots and a ground wire.
But the previous homeowner (or electrician?) has six wires going into the timer. This was confirmed to be 2 120v lines.
If you are including ground wires from now on just ignore the ground wires.
Based on my layman’s understanding you can get 240VAC from two 120VAC