New main panel preferences

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-24-16, 09:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 129
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New main panel preferences

What are the top brands? Best one to get?

What about location? Place over old one?

I heard placing it too close to living quarters can cause high exposure to radiation?

Any other considerations for someone looking to upgrade and replace a Pushmatic type?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-24-16, 09:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,560
Received 410 Votes on 385 Posts
There are several top brands. Everyone has their pet company.

I prefer using Square D QO panels. You can mount it in place of the old one.
You'd probably need a 100A 24 circuit surface mount panel.

There is no radiation given off by an electrical panel.
 
  #3  
Old 07-25-16, 08:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 129
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
"You can mount it in place of the old one." is that a generic suggestion or are they designed for that? Sorry I'm not familiar with the shape and engineering configuration of the panels.
 
  #4  
Old 07-25-16, 09:24 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,955
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
Since the old cables are already cut for the existing location, you either need to put the new panel where the old on was or splice at that location. If the panel is moved you may need an extra disconnect.
 
  #5  
Old 07-25-16, 11:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 129
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Homelineā„¢ Solar-ready Combination Service Entrance Devices (CSEDs) - Schneider Electric USA
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AyFt_lbHgcQ
What do you folks think about the solar ready boxes?

Also, currently my cables come from the top. Does that mean I need one like that? In the pics, the meter appears to be on the bottom.
 
  #6  
Old 07-25-16, 11:48 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 8,512
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Knock outs in panel will let wires come in from ant direction.
 
  #7  
Old 07-25-16, 02:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 129
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes but if they are currently on top, does that mean the wires will have to run down on the side then go up into the box? Or do they enter the box from top despite the fact the meter is now on the bottom?
 
  #8  
Old 07-26-16, 07:16 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,092
Received 29 Votes on 23 Posts
Yes but if they are currently on top, does that mean the wires will have to run down on the side then go up into the box? Or do they enter the box from top despite the fact the meter is now on the bottom?
You just asked about panel preference and then you linked to a combination service entrance device which contains a meter socket. What do you have now? Where is your meter now located? Is this for a new solar installation? What you linked to is Ok if you want a 10 year warranted aluminum bus product, but I prefer lifetime warranted copper bussed panels. Some pictures of your existing meter socket and panel would be helpful.
 
  #9  
Old 07-26-16, 09:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,560
Received 410 Votes on 385 Posts
You mentioned calling in an electrician in your other thread. See what he recommends.
Is this the panel you're replacing ?

Name:  27857512353_8ce5bf90fd_z.jpg
Views: 81
Size:  25.5 KB
 
  #10  
Old 07-27-16, 11:27 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,955
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
The location of the meter has no real bearing on how or where the cable enter the panel. Perhaps you meant main breaker instead of meter?
 
  #11  
Old 07-27-16, 07:29 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,712
Received 29 Votes on 28 Posts
All the major brand breaker panels are good quality. Each manufacturer has a 'residential' line and a 'commercial' line. The commercial line is higher quality, and corresponding higher cost. They will all do what you need, so at the end of the day, it doesn't really matter.

More importantly, you want to ensure you get the correct type for your installation.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: