Main line going to house not in conduit

Old 07-29-16, 01:52 PM
G
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Main line going to house not in conduit

I've been helping my fiance fix up her house, for the last 3 years (the place was destroyed). I'm working outside and the way the electrical is "rigged up" seems wrong to me - I'm a good dry waller and a reasonable plumber, but know very little about wiring a house. The line coming from the road enters a pipe on one end of the house (at the roof), comes down the side of the house, and the pipe stops about 5-feet above the ground. The wire then wends around to the back of the house and was tacked up to some skirting (which is rotting) with some small pieces of aluminum - looks like the made some straps by just cutting some pieces of aluminum siding. The skirting needs to be replaced so, today, I removed the straps. But I cannot believe that this wire should not be in conduit. Is this a legal/safe setup (see photos):

Name:  WOW1.jpg
Views: 1825
Size:  36.4 KB

Name:  WOW2.jpg
Views: 756
Size:  51.0 KB

Name:  ugh.jpg
Views: 1018
Size:  46.0 KB

Old 07-29-16, 02:24 PM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
There should be a cable going directly in to the meter socket. I'm not seeing that. Give us another shot but straight on of the area below but with the box on the right open and any interior cover removed so we can see the wiring. Show us where that cable comes from (whats on the other end of the cable).

Views: 1058
Size:  37.0 KB

So us what is above your first picture. What is that conduit going into?

Name:  WOW1.jpg
Views: 136
Size:  36.4 KB

Last edited by ray2047; 07-29-16 at 09:16 PM. Reason: Remove unneeded comment.
Old 07-29-16, 04:48 PM
G
Been gone for awhile......is this what you mean?Name:  bottom.jpg
Views: 732
Size:  31.9 KB

Old 07-29-16, 05:02 PM
J
Received 128 Upvotes on 113 Posts
Got a whole lot of issues to deal with.
All that cable and wiring is a total mess.
No way should that wood be that close to grade.