Ideal voltage for equipment

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-30-16, 04:50 PM
9
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 116
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ideal voltage for equipment

Hello everyone,

I have equipment that states it can take voltage from 200-240. If you could choose your voltage what would it be. I am putting on a UPS to the system and I can select different outlet voltages.

Thank you
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-30-16, 05:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,771
Received 931 Votes on 868 Posts
The higher the voltage.... the lower the current draw reducing the need for larger wire.
So I'd set it at 240v.
 
  #3  
Old 07-30-16, 07:26 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,499
Received 174 Votes on 156 Posts
It will really depend what you have available. If this is in a home, then your voltage available is likely 240. If this is in a commercial setting the voltage available will either be 208 or 240. Your equipment will run fine on either. Spending money on a buck/boost transformer would be a waste of money.
 
  #4  
Old 07-30-16, 07:53 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,573
Received 36 Votes on 32 Posts
For most UPS units you want to select the same output voltage as your normal input. You really don't want the voltage changing much when the UPS kicks on and off. Otherwise lights dim/brighten and motors can change speed.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: