GFCI Breaker question

Old 08-12-16, 10:49 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GFCI Breaker question

I have a separate breaker panel that comes from my main breaker for my spa. I turned off the power at this breaker so I could drain and clean the spa and left if off a couple of days.

After I clean it, I fill it back up, flip on the breaker...nothing. No power whatsoever, nothing on the display, no motors running, etc. I do hear a "click" on the spa control panel when I flip the breaker on and the display screen shows kinda like a flash of the LED for a split second.

I get up under the deck and take off the control panel to the spa itself looking to see if maybe there is another breaker there that could've tripped but there isn't one that I could see. So I'm not an electrician but I have a voltage tester and take off the panel to the breaker. I'm not sure of the correct terms, but the two wires coming in from the main breaker, I test and get "220" to light up. So that tells me it's getting power to the panel. The wires coming out of the breaker going to the spa get nothing. They should, light up 220 as well right? There's another one in there that is not GFCI for the deck lights and they light up as "110".

Also, the "test" button on the breaker is supposed to make it flip to the middle "off" position, right? It doesn't do that. This is beginning to sound like a dumb question after re-reading this, but is my breaker bad? This whole setup is less than 3 years old so it seems odd that this would happen after i left the panel off for several days (when there's been no other problem).

Also, if the recommendation is to replace it, I should be able to switch off the main breaker and work on this safely? Should I just take it out and take it with me to the store and get another and replace it the same way? Could this be just a symptom of a problem and the real issue is with the spa?

Sponsored Links
Old 08-12-16, 11:07 AM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts