Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Spooky stuff happening on a DIY power breakdown protection

Old 08-23-16, 09:51 AM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Fist of all, I'm not English native so if something is not clear, post back.

I'm currently working on a DIY fish tank control center. It will be a arduino based system that basically control different power sources for 5 and 12 vdc (ledstrips and relays), some sensors (temp, ph, low level water, power source temp, voltages and currents) and some 110vac relays for heaters and emergency pumps. To make it short, the system will run automatic dataloging in an sd card and automatic water changes + light timers.

I have some knowledge in electronic but I have not done any for many... many years.

I had 2 big 12vdc batteries at home doing nothing. I wanted my system to be breakdown protected so I set up a circuit with diodes and a main relay (controlled by my AC -12VDC source) that switches the anode from the battery to a charger when activated, and to my circuits when AC unpluged.

I realized that the delay for the relay switching when turning off AC was too long for my arduino system to keep going. I took some capacitors, put them in parallel and made a 12VDC accumulator. (See picture, the only difference is that I think in the real circuit I experiment with, the main switch is on neutral, not live. I didn't draw the AC ground but everything is pluged)
Name:  DSC_0226.jpg
Views: 210
Size:  27.8 KB

The system is working fine.
=======================
HERE FOR THE SPOOKY PART.
When running on battery (AC unpluged, main relay deactivated), the relay switches for a millisecond. Not long enough to make my arduino reset, but long enough to make my LCDs dimm low.
SPOOKYER