Adding RV outlet to exterior of house

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-25-16, 01:21 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adding RV outlet to exterior of house

Hi all,

I'm looking for some guidance (and sanity check) on the right way to go about this. For reference, my city in Kansas uses the 2011 NEC (& future editions) without modifications.

I'm wanting to add an RV (120v 30A) outlet on the corner of my house. Our power comes in from the meter, runs through a 100A breaker outside which powers the 2 legs in that box. There's a 30A breaker for an AC in there as well. I've got about 4 empty spaces. Then there's some very thick wire going from the lugs into the house to the panel that has everything else on it.

I think I'm ok just adding a 30A breaker in the outside box, running 10/2 in PVC conduit to where I want the plug. Here's is where I get a little confused. Do I have to have a "temp" box like this: [ATTACH=CONFIG]70080[/ATTACH]

Or can I get away with something like so on a weatherproof box, surface mounted to the side of the house? (trying to avoid cutting a hole in the siding)
[ATTACH=CONFIG]70084[/ATTACH]

An extension on that question, I'd optionally like to run a 20A outlet there for easier access with an extension cord for my unpowered garage. Would I need to run a separate set of wire (12/2) from a 20A breaker for that? Can I run it in the same conduit? Thanks for any insights!!
 
Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-25-16, 02:40 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The first one includes a weather proof box intended for surface mounting. The second would not fit an RV receptacle. Wires for the 20 amp receptacle may be in the same conduit but must be on separate breakers. The #10 ground for the 30 amp receptacle can be shared with the 20 amp receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 08-26-16, 09:25 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
The first box you pictured is also a surface mount box. Neither would require anything more than mounting screws to penetrate the siding. Put a little shot of silicone caulk in the screw holes and it's no big deal. The first type of box is preferred because it maintains its full 3R weather rating when the RV cord is plugged in. A bubble cover would be tough or impossible to close with an RV plug in it.
 
  #4  
Old 08-26-16, 06:17 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,645
Received 85 Votes on 75 Posts
I think I'm ok just adding a 30A breaker in the outside box, running 10/2 in PVC conduit to where I want the plug. Here's is where I get a little confused.
That's a good plan, a 30 amp single pole breaker to feed the RV receptacle in the NEMA 3R box, but.....10-2?? You don't want to run a cable. IF you run a cable it would have to be UF-B cable which is hard to pull in conduit and hard to strip. You'd be much better off with 3 - #10 THHN/THWN conductors.

I'd optionally like to run a 20A outlet there for easier access with an extension cord for my unpowered garage. Would I need to run a separate set of wire (12/2) from a 20A breaker for that?
Yes, you can use the same conduit, but again, don't use cable, use 2 - #12 THHN/THWN conductors and run them into the NEMA 3R box. Power these from a 20 amp single pole breaker. Punch a hole in the bottm of the box and install a Bell box under the RV box with an offset nipple. Add a 15 amp GFCI weather Resistant receptacle and an in-use (bubble type) cover. For the ground wire to this receptacle, pigtail a piece of #12 green THHN/THWN from the #10 ground wire from the RV circuit.
 
  #5  
Old 08-30-16, 09:50 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Add a 15 amp GFCI
Why not a 20A?

Running THHN makes more sense, especially since I can buy it at the lengths I need. Any thoughts on stranded vs. solid?
 
  #6  
Old 08-31-16, 07:34 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
Virtually nothing you'll ever use in a residential setting has a 20A plug on it, so 20A receptacles are a waste of money.

Solid wire is a little harder to pull, but easier to make connections.
 
  #7  
Old 08-31-16, 04:02 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,645
Received 85 Votes on 75 Posts
Why not a 20A?
You could use a 20 amp GFCI receptacle, but I cannot think of a single good reason to. Like Ibpooks said:

Virtually nothing you'll ever use in a residential setting has a 20A plug on it, so 20A receptacles are a waste of money.
Some commercial 120 volt copy machines require a 20 amp circuit and 20 amp receptacle and you might find a few heavy duty 120 volt air compressors that might have a 20 amp plug, but it's extremely doubtful you have anything like that. I cannot think of a single good reason the ever use a 20 amp duplex receptacle in a typical house.
 
  #8  
Old 08-31-16, 04:24 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Unless you move to Canada. For our Canadian members check the CEC, I believe they require 20a receptacles om all 120v/20a circuits.
 
  #9  
Old 08-31-16, 07:37 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Put it all together tonight and it went well. Things I've learned:
  • When pushing wire through PVC, go from the direction that fits into the flaired piece - you don't get caught up that way
  • Also when running wire, run the thinner stuff first, it binds up more trying to run it after the thicker gauges
Overview
Name:  20160831_203730.jpg
Views: 6289
Size:  20.0 KB

Close-up
Name:  20160831_203704.jpg
Views: 7603
Size:  19.0 KB

Verification
Name:  20160831_203648.jpg
Views: 6144
Size:  26.4 KB

Thanks everyone for the advice!!
 
  #10  
Old 08-31-16, 08:14 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Looking good. Thanks for letting us see the finished job.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: