Adding gfi receptacle and switch to photocell location

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-30-16, 01:14 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adding gfi receptacle and switch to photocell location

Hello. Forgive the long, non-technical description. I am trying to add an exterior outlet, as well as a switch.

Here's the background: I recently moved into a house that has exterior landscape lighting hooked up to a photo sensor. There is a box connected to the side of the house where the sensor is connected to a wire that leads to a junction box in the basement. As stated in the title, there is a red, black, and white wire. The red wire is not hot, and is connected to black wires in the junction box with a nut.

Also in the junction box is a red/black/white wire that leads outside to the landscape lighting. The red wire from this wire is not connected to anything in the box.

Here's my question: Can I add a gfci outlet and a switch in a 2 gang box, in place of the current simple connection? Currently there is no way to turn off the outdoor lights with out using the fuse box (20A, not split). I'd like a way to be able to turn the lights on and off without turning off the breaker. Also, I currently have no outdoor outlets, and this seems to be a possible spot.

If this is possible, how would I go about doing the connections. Thanks a lot for responses. This seems to be a unique situation, since all my searches came up fruitless.
Name:  IMG_3325.jpg
Views: 1651
Size:  21.0 KBName:  IMG_3326.jpg
Views: 2200
Size:  19.7 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-30-16, 01:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,537
Received 1,036 Votes on 960 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Yes... you should be able to do what you want.
Just confirming that there is only 1) three wire cable in the photocell box.
 
  #3  
Old 08-30-16, 03:47 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is a box connected to the side of the house where the sensor is connected to a wire that leads to a junction box in the basement
Your pictures show the light only and not the photocell. It sounds like there is a photocell outdoors in a separate box and it's wired into a box in the basement. Post a picture of the junction box in the basement, that's probably where you will pull constant power from.
Basically the sensor is a switch and you need to find your source power in that box, a neutral and constant source hot.
We can help and tag all wires before disconnecting.
 
  #4  
Old 08-30-16, 06:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,537
Received 1,036 Votes on 960 Posts
That device in his picture is a swivel mount photocell.

As long as there are only three wires there. White and black will be always live and will go to the line side of the GFI receptacle.

A switch will be used to break the red wire to keep the lights off manually.
 
  #5  
Old 08-30-16, 07:50 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Pete, that's why you make the big bucks.
For some reason I thought that picture was a light and not the photocell.
 
  #6  
Old 08-31-16, 06:09 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the quick responses! Yes, there is only one three-wire cable in the photocell box. My last question is what would the exact wire configuration be? You mentioned connecting the white and black wires from the junction box to the "line" on the gfci. Where would the red go? Also, how would the photocell with the r/b/w wires be connected?

Forgive my crude skills, but this is what I'm working with. Thanks again.

Name:  Untitled.jpg
Views: 2556
Size:  13.8 KB
 
  #7  
Old 08-31-16, 11:31 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,537
Received 1,036 Votes on 960 Posts
Here's your diagram.............

Name:  Untitled.jpg
Views: 1913
Size:  12.4 KB
 
  #8  
Old 08-31-16, 02:05 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You are the absolute best. Thanks so much for making it so easy.
 
  #9  
Old 09-05-16, 09:25 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
update: Success!

Thanks again for all your help. Works beautifully!
 
  #10  
Old 09-05-16, 10:41 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,537
Received 1,036 Votes on 960 Posts
You're welcome. Thanks for letting us know how you made out.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: