Gfci outlet found with no cover

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-30-16, 05:46 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gfci outlet found with no cover

I just moved into my new house and i was walking outside and noticed this outlet after it rained and the kitchen outlets went out as you can see in the pictures attached its corroded and rusted
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...?usp=drive_web

Name:  gfi.jpg
Views: 195
Size:  24.7 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-30-16 at 06:10 PM. Reason: added one pic from links
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-30-16, 06:05 PM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Yep, time for a replacement, along with an in-use cover. You may want to consider one of these style box and in-use cover combinations:

https://www.amazon.com/Arlington-DBV...oor+outlet+box

They make a couple of different types depending on siding type.....
 
  #3  
Old 08-30-16, 06:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,568
Received 1,041 Votes on 965 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

It can be hard to see google docs.

Your receptacle is pretty well corroded. You should consider changing it for a new one and then putting an in-use cover over it.

Name:  cover.JPG
Views: 161
Size:  7.4 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-31-16 at 06:38 PM. Reason: added picture for the third time
  #4  
Old 08-31-16, 04:05 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,639
Received 85 Votes on 75 Posts
Your receptacle is pretty well corroded. You should consider changing it for a new one and then putting an in-use cover over it.
Replacement may not be so easy. It appears that the existing GFCI receptacle was installed with drywall screws. The box may have to be replaced.
 
  #5  
Old 08-31-16, 07:03 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,796
Received 75 Votes on 70 Posts
Outlet was installed without a proper siding block.
Looks like a DIY install.
Should have had a siding block like this.
http://www.lowes.com/pd/8-5-in-x--5-...Block/50394764
No clue why that price is so high, I only pay about $15.00 for the same thing.
 
  #6  
Old 09-01-16, 11:31 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 506
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
The new GFCI should be weather resistant (WR) too.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: