Re-wire project

Old 09-07-16, 01:37 PM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Re-wire project

So I'm in the process of remodeling my first purchased house. I've been a competent remodeling contractor for 9 years and know my way around most things. Recently I began rewiring my dining room and foyer, primarily to install 3-ways which were not present anywhere in the house (1974).

I did all the math and I'm not overloading the circuit. I do have three 3-way fixtures and several outlets on the 20amp circuit. The panel is new and all new breakers. I did (after some trouble shooting) find and fix two short circuits after I wired everything up. In this time the breaker tripped several times until I was able to pinpoint the culprits. I cleaned everything up and places the wires neatly in their respective boxes and flipped the breaker back on when it tripped again and I about pulled my hair out. Pulled everything back out of the boxes thinking I had something touching after it was jammed into the boxes and the breaker tripped a final time then made a "buzzing noise" and remained in the on position while the eye glass remained orange (tripped). I quickly flipped the breaker to off and rushed back inside to make sure nothing was burning. No fires, just a massive headache. I'm usually good with electrical and read diagrams and follow code but I clearly am not good at 3-ways.

I need advice:

1. What was the buzzing on the breaker and is it toast?

2. How can I trace the short or ground fault without consistently tripping the breaker through trial and error?

3. Should I just simply call and electrician. I really don't want to do this mainly because of price but this is 3 days of headache and I want my Sheetrock back since it's still summer in Houston!

Sponsored Links
Old 09-07-16, 01:47 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts