New wiring trips breaker

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-12-16, 04:39 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New wiring trips breaker

Hello everyone: I hope someone can give me an answer to this problem: I recently installed about 400 ft of UF 10/2 cable from the garage to my front gate. At the gate, I routed several runs of outlets for the lights. The problem is when I finally installed a GFCI at the beginning of the run and wired it to the existing outlet at the garage, the breaker kept tripping. Even when I removed the GFCI and just connected it to the existing outlet, the breaker still kept tripping. What did I do wrong?
 
  #2  
Old 09-12-16, 04:49 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,512
Received 124 Votes on 98 Posts
You may have a ground touching an outlet terminal. Disconnect all the new outlets at end of the 10/2 and just test the 10/2 by itself. If it doesn't trip go from there connecting the outlets and testing as you go.
 
  #3  
Old 09-12-16, 04:54 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. That's a good idea. Just to make sure I wired the GFCI correctly, I connected the garage outlet to the "line" side then the 10-2 to the "load" side. Did I do that correctly? The reason I asked is because before the breaker trips, I tested and verified that there was power to the line side but no power to the load side.
 
  #4  
Old 09-12-16, 05:02 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I connected the garage outlet to the "line" side then the 10-2 to the "load" side.
That was correct. .
 
  #5  
Old 09-12-16, 05:15 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks ray. i just wanted to make sure of that connection.
 
  #6  
Old 09-12-16, 05:22 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,512
Received 124 Votes on 98 Posts
Just to make sure we're talking apples to apples, the breaker is the breaker in the panel tripping, not the GFCI tripping? Also I assume the existing garage outlet is not GFCI protected that you tapped off of for the new GFCI outlet. Sorry, I'm just a little confused on what's what.
 
  #7  
Old 09-12-16, 05:41 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 18
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes the breaker is the breaker in the panel tripping and the garage outlet is not GFCI protected.
 
  #8  
Old 09-12-16, 08:49 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
To be sure the cable itself does not have nick in it, I would disconnect it from outlets it fence and see if breaker trips.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: