Emerson electric motor wiring help

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-12-16, 05:56 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Emerson electric motor wiring help

I have an Emerson Model KS63ZZSED-2482 CAT NO. 2473 General Purpose Electric Motor.

It did not seem to be performing well on my table saw (I just bought it), so when I noticed that it was dual voltage, I thought that maybe it was wired for 230 and I was running it on 115 (Not sure if it would run like that?).... I removed the wiring cover, and the wiring didn't match either diagram on the motor.

I attempted to wire it for 115. The problem is that the low voltage diagram has a brown wire attached to terminal #3, and for 230 it is to be insulated. I cannot find a brown wire at all. Also, there is no mention on the diagram for a yellow, and an orange wire.

It does run when wired for 115 without the brown wire, but it gets hot very quickly.

Photos attached. The photo is the way the wiring was before I made any changes.

Any advice is appreciated,

Thanks
 
Attached Images   
  #2  
Old 09-12-16, 06:37 PM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
It's possible the motor was rewound, or perhaps the capacitor was replaced.

Here is a diagram showing a typical motor and how to connect it for 120 or 240. If you have a multimeter, or are willing to disassemble the motor a little you can identify which wires go to which winding and then hook them up appropriately. The two run coils should be easy to identify. The start coil is a little harder, but remember the start switch will be closed when the motor isn't spinning, so you should be able to measure the capacitance and winding in series.

If there are two capacitors, you need a different diagram....

Name:  motcon2.jpg
Views: 9139
Size:  22.8 KB
 
  #3  
Old 09-13-16, 05:51 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for your reply.

I partially disassembled the motor and can see all of the wires. There is no brown as you can see in the photos.

I bit over my head, but I did my best to check the wires with my multimeter.

I checked each wire, against each of the others, and in each case I only had one reading (as expected). I am assuming, the two wires that i got a reading on would be the two wires for a specific coil.

Between White and Orange it read .01 Ohms
Between Yellow, and Terminal 1, which connects to Blue via the Thermo-Protect Switch I got the same reading of .01 Ohms.

I was not able to get any reading with the Red wire.
I was not able to get any reading with the Black wire (which is connected to the capacitor)

Hope the additional photos help.
 
Attached Images     
  #4  
Old 09-14-16, 11:12 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I figured it out. So I thought I would post, in case it can hep someone else.

Using the diagram that you shared, as well as one I found on another site. (Attached)

After some trial and error, I finally figured it out. My colors were the same, but not in the same places. My run windings were Orange & White, and Blue & Yellow. After I figured out which ones were pairs (from the info you shared above) and tried them each one at a time and they worked. Then when I connected both of them, I got the dreaded hum, so I figured that they must be working against each other. I reversed the wires on one of the windings, fired it up and it worked, I now have lots of power!

Thanks CarbideTipped for your help.
 
Attached Images  
  #5  
Old 09-14-16, 12:11 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Thanks for letting us know, it may help someone else.
 
  #6  
Old 09-14-16, 01:49 PM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
You did all the hard work, glad it's working!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: