Bathroom Remodel-Loose Wires

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-15-16, 08:04 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 106
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bathroom Remodel-Loose Wires

I'm redoing the bathroom and have some wires I won't use anymore. I'm thinking of cutting them (power secured of course) and connecting them back up in box in the attic. What kind of box would I use? Does it need securing to a rafter? Thoughts?
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-15-16, 08:19 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,151
Received 87 Votes on 74 Posts
You can use regular device boxes and a blank cover secured to the framing. The boxes need to remain accessible.
 
  #3  
Old 09-15-16, 08:28 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 106
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Would being able to reach it in the attic be accessible? Or should it be run back down the wall?
 
  #4  
Old 09-15-16, 09:23 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Would being able to reach it in the attic be accessible?
Yes. Junction boxes in attics are done all the time.

The other way is to disconnect the cable at both ends and abandon in place.
 
  #5  
Old 09-15-16, 09:54 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 106
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, thanks for the info Ray.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: