60A Non-Fused Disconnect Wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-07-16, 07:46 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
60A Non-Fused Disconnect Wiring

In a 20A Non-Fused Disconnect, how do you wire the ground? I know the Red/Black go to the main posts in and out. The Neutral goes to the bus below (right), but do you just splice the grounds together or ground the incoming to the box and do the same for the outgoing?

This is the background if you are interested.... I am tying into an unused outdoor box wired for 240V / 60A. The previous homeowner had a hot tub. The purpose of my tie-in is to extend power to an external workshop sub-panel. The new work is 6 ga, THHN in conduit no less than 18" deep.

Thanks for you comments!
 
  #2  
Old 10-07-16, 08:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,824
Received 1,330 Votes on 1,229 Posts
You can use lugs and connect directly to the metal box or purchase a ground bar.
The ground bar bolts directly thru the metal box.

Name:  ground block.jpg
Views: 1493
Size:  14.4 KB
 
  #3  
Old 10-07-16, 10:06 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Awesome; thanks for the quick reply.... I'll pick up a grounding bar and ground it inside the box just like the subpanel (no grounding rod required at the disconnect I am assuming)...
 
  #4  
Old 10-07-16, 10:36 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
no grounding rod required at the disconnect I am assuming
This is a disconnect for a sub panel in a detached building isn't it? If so the sub panel needs a ground rod but not the disconnect.
 
  #5  
Old 10-08-16, 03:59 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes, it's a disconnect for the subpanel in the workshop; that's what I thought but wanted to be sure. thanks!
 
  #6  
Old 10-08-16, 02:47 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,758
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
In a 20A Non-Fused Disconnect, how do you wire the ground?
Is it a 20 or 60 amp disconnect for the subpanel? Do you have a manufacturer and catalog number?

The Neutral goes to the bus below (right), but do you just splice the grounds together or ground the incoming to the box and do the same for the outgoing?
If that is an air conditioning disconnect what you are calling the neutral bus might really be a ground bar that is bonded to the box. Air conditioning disconnects typically are 250 volt rated and have no provision for a neutral connection because a 240 volt circuit has no neutral. Be careful, you may be grounding the neutral in the disconnect.
 
  #7  
Old 10-08-16, 09:24 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  IMG_2885.jpg
Views: 1402
Size:  15.1 KBJoe - thanks for the additional info. I am coming off of the main panel (60A Double pole) to the 60 amp non-fuse disconnect. From the d/c I am continuing on to the sub panel in the workshop. After looking at the d/c a little closer today, I am concerned that I may be headed down the wrong track. The connections for two hot wires are pretty straight forward. Below that is a bar that accepts two wires - one in and one out. There is no spot to add a ground bar.

Since this will be coming off of a breaker in the main, why not just splice the wires together in a junction box and eliminate the disconnect all together? I will also have a disconnect on the sub panel (100A) in the workshop. I understand the 100A subpanel is overkill since there is only 60A coming into the shop, but I need the extra space in the sub panel... Thanks!
 

Last edited by James R. Davis; 10-08-16 at 09:50 PM.
  #8  
Old 10-08-16, 10:13 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
As Joe wrote that is a ground bar. It has no insulators to isolate it. Just connect the neutrals with a split bolt connector and wrap with tape or use a Polaris™ connector (more expensive). (In some places it is claimed Ideal blue will take two #6.)

Name:  IMG_2885.jpg
Views: 1599
Size:  25.9 KB
 
  #9  
Old 10-08-16, 10:16 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Awesome; will do. Thanks Ray/Joe!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: