Dedicated electrical circuit for generator?

Old 10-10-16, 08:50 AM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dedicated electrical circuit for generator?

Greetings:

Fair warning...I am a total noob at electrical work so bare with me.

I have a new construction house. While building the house with the builder he sold me on making a dedicated circuit for a generator and I said sure.

At the final walkthrough he showed me the outlet for the dedicated circuit, but it looks like a normal outlet. Me being a total moron with all things electrical I was like "ok cool".

Now that I have had time to think about it...I have no idea how I would connect a generator to this thing, and it seems like it should have a different type of outlet (or inlet I should say).

Can someone just walk me through how I would connect a generator to a dedicated circuit in my house? I really need to know now vs trying to figure it out after a hurricane rolls through and there is no power.

Sponsored Links
Old 10-10-16, 09:34 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 85 Votes on 73 Posts
If it is a dedicated receptacle designed to be fed from a generator you would move the appliance cord over to it. Then you would need to connect the generator to an inlet with a cord. What was the receptacle designed to power?

Old 10-10-16, 03:22 PM
A
Received 75 Votes on 69 Posts
A typical dedicated circuit for a generator would have an inlet (male receptacle) on an outside wall near the generator and a regular (female) duplex receptacle (or maybe 2 or 3) on an inside wall. There would be no connection between this and any other wiring in the house. You would use extension cords to plug in lights and appliances during a power failure. Outside you would plug into one of the "regular" (15 or 20 amp) receptacles on the generator.